Our Faculty

Our faculty members are dedicated teachers and scholars who are active participants in the ASPECT program and its thriving intellectual life. Click on the tabs below for a list of ASPECT's faculty members. 

Rachel Scott

Core Faculty

Danna Agmon Assistant Professor 412 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8307 dagmon@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor 531 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5681 mauroj@vt.edu
François Debrix Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0694
fdebrix@vt.edu
Rohan Kalyan Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1982
rohan22@vt.edu
Bettina Koch Associate Professor 507 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5766
bkoch@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543
moehler@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4848
rmscott@vt.edu
Brett L. Shadle Professor 428 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8362
shadle@vt.edu

 

Affiliate Faculty

A-H

Danna Agmon Assistant Professor 412 Major Williams Hall 
540-231-8307
dagmon@vt.edu
Onwubiko Agozino Professor 526B McBryde Hall 540-231-7699
agozino@vt.edu
Aaron Ansell Assistant Professor 112 Lane Hall 540-231-0491
aansell@vt.edu
Clair Apodaca Associate Professor 525 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5310
apodaca@vt.edu
Paul C. Avey Assistant Professor 513 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6814
pcavey@vt.edu
Mark V. Barrow, Jr. Professor 431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4099
barrow@vt.edu
France Bélanger Professor 3009 Pamplin Hall
540-231-6720
belanger@vt.edu
Gabriel Blouin-Genest Assistant Professor 220 Stanger St 540-231-7665 gblouin@vt.edu
Daniel Breslau Associate Professor 235 Lane Hall
540-231-8472
dbreslau@vt.edu
Ryan C. Briggs Assistant Professor 528 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5491
ryancbriggs@vt.edu
Brian Britt Professor
111 Lane Hall 540-231-5118 bbritt@vt.edu
David L. Brunsma Professor  560 McBryde Hall (0137)
540-231-8723 brunsmad@vt.edu
C.L. Bohannon Assistant Professor 120E Burruss Hal
540-231-9866
cl@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor 531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6571
mauroj@vt.edu
David Cline Assistant Professor 413 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1795 davidcline@vt.edu
Nicholas Copeland Assistant Professor 524 McBryde Hall 540-231-2768 ncopel@vt.edu
Cara Daggett
Assistant Professor
  540-231-
cdaggett@vt.edu
François Debrix Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0694
fdebrix@vt.edu
Priya Dixit Assistant Professor 511 McBryde Hall 540-231-5323 pdixit@vt.edu
A. Roger Ekirch Professor 437 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8381 arekrich@vt.edu
Tom Ewing Professor and Associate Dean 260D Wallace Hall 540-231-3212 etewing@vt.edu

Jessica Folkart

Professor 323 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9076
jfolkart@vt.edu
Matthew R. Gabriele Associate Professor 1319 East Ambler Johnston Hall
540-231-2207 mgabriele@vt.edu
Thomas Gardner Alumni Distinguished Professor 417 Shanks Hall 540-231-6901
tom.gardner@vt.edu
Jim Garrison Professor 400B War Memorial Hall 540-231-8331
wesley@vt.edu
Edward J. K. Gitre Visiting Assistant Professor 432 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1722
egitre@vt.edu
Carmen Gitre Assistant Professor 411 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5216
cgitre@vt.edu
Nicholas Goedert
Assistant Professor 512 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7665
ngoedert@vt.edu
Heather Gumbert Associate Professor 406 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8378
hgumbert@vt.edu
Anthony K. Harrison Associate Professor, Gloria D. Smith Professor of Africana Studies 678 McBryde Hall
540-231-4519
kwame@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Edward S. Diggs Professor in the Humanities 206 Shanks Hall
540-231-5076
bhausman@vt.edu
Matthew Heaton Associate Professor 409 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8361
mheaton@vt.edu
Rebecca Hester Assistant Professor 235 Lane Hall 540-231-8359
rjhester@vt.edu
Karen Hult Professor and Chair of Political Science 531D Major Williams Hall
540-231-5836
khult@vt.edu

I-R

Benjamin Jantzen Assistant Professor 226 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
Eric Jardine 
Assistant Professor
508 Major Williams Hall
540-232-8681
ejardine@vt.edu

Caitlin E. Jewitt

Assistant Professor

522 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7544
cjewitt@vt.edu
Sharon P. Johnson Associate Professor 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859
spjohnson@vt.edu
Rohan Kalyan Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1982
rohan22@vt.edu
Jason P. Kelly Assistant Professor 517 Major Williams Hall 540-231-2839 jpkelly@vt.edu
James C. Klagge Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8487
jklagge@vt.edu
Bettina Koch Associate Professor 507 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5766
bkoch@vt.edu
Christine Labuski Assistant Professor 518 McBryde Hall 540-231-2765
chrislab@vt.edu
Robert (Bob) Leonard Professor 320 Henderson Hall 540-231-9299
bob.leonard@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0639
lind1279@vt.edu
Ilja A. Luciak Professor 521 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5246
iluciak@vt.edu
Timothy W. Luke University Distinguished Professor
539 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6633 twluke@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543
moehler@vt.edu
Marian Mollin Associate Professor 419 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8367

mmollin@vt.edu

Wayne D. Moore

Associate Professor

505 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5478
wmoore@vt.edu
Scott G. Nelson Associate Professor
519 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5629
scnelson@vt.edu
Amy Nelson Associate Professor 419 Major Williams Hall 
540-231-8369
anelson@vt.edu
Zhange Ni Assistant Professor 204 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1823
nizhange@vt.edu
Patricia Nickel Associate Professor
Architecture Annex
540-231-3549
nickel@vt.edu
Philip Olson Assistant Professor 333 Lane Hall
540-231-1119
prolson@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Associate Professor 231 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8489
critique@vt.edu
Joseph C. Pitt Professor 237 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5760
jcpitt@vt.edu
Luke P. Plotica

Assistant Professor

526 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7614
luke.plotica@vt.edu
Paulo Polanah Associate Professor 670 McBryde Hall 540-231-5650
ppolanah@vt.edu
Katrina M Powell Director, Women's and Gender Studies 507 McBryde Hall 540-231-5923
kmpowell@vt.edu
Karl Precoda
Advanced Instructor
251-D Henderson Hall
540-231-6486
karlp@vt.edu
Anita M. Puckett
Associate Professor
133 Lane Hall
540-231-9526 apuckett@vt.edu
Besnik Pula Assistant Professor 524 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8475
bpula@vt.edu
Patrick Roberts Associate Professor 1021 Prince Street   robertsp@vt.edu
John Ryan Professor and Chair 560 McBryde Hall 540-231-9396
johnryan@vt.edu

S-Z

Michael Saffle Professor 243 Lane Hall
540-231-6080
msaffle@vt.edu
Emily M. Satterwhite Associate Professor
344 Lane Hall
540-231-8779
satterwhite@vt.edu
Andrew Scerri Assistant Professor
515 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8843
ajscerri@vt.edu
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor
321 Lane Hall 540-231-8377
pschmitt@vt.edu
Helen Schneider Associate Professor
421 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8373
hms@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4848
rmscott@vt.edu
Paula Seniors Associate Professor
672 McBryde Hall 
540-231-7205
mrp@vt.edu 
Brett L. Shadle Professor 428 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8362
shadle@vt.edu
Barbara E. Smith Professor 522 McBryde Hall
540-231-8189
smithbe@vt.edu
Robert P. Stephens Associate Professor and Associate Dean
238 Wallace Hall 540-231-6770
rosteph2@vt.edu
Max Stephenson Professor
201 West Roanoke St. 540-231-6775
mstephen@vt.edu
Yannis Stivachtis Associate Professor
119 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5816
ystivach@vt.edu
Gresilda Tilley-Lubbs Associate Professor
300E War Memorial Hall 540-231-4658
glubbs@vt.edu
Gerard Toal Professor 1021 Prince St. Alexandria, VA 703-706-8113
toalg@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Assistant Professor
223 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8948 trogdon@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh Associate Professor
339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362
vinodhv@vt.edu
Peter Wallenstein Professor
402 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8376
pwallens@vt.edu
Janell Watson Professor of French
341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009
rjwatson@vt.edu
Edward Weisband Edward S. Diggs Endowed Chair in the Social Sciences 501 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5298
weisband@vt.edu
Daniel Wodak Assistant Professor
217 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8644 
dwodak@vt.edu
Laura Zanotti Associate Professor
509 Major Williams Hall 540-231-2750
lzanotti@vt.edu

 

Emeritus

Elizabeth Fine Professor 202 Major Williams Hall 540-231-0698 bfine@vt.edu
Ann Laberge Associate Professor
     
Richard Rich Professor
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6571
rrich@vt.edu
Bob Siegle Professor
215 Shanks Hall
540-231-7739
bob.siegle@vt.edu
Richard Shingles Associate Professor
    shingles@vt.edu

 

In Memoriam

Craig Leonard Brians Associate Professor 202 Major Williams Hall 540-231-0698