Faculty

Alliance for Social, Political, Ethical, and Cultural Thought Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of Alliance for Social, Political, Ethical, and Cultural Thought faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Danna Agmon Associate Professor 412 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8307 dagmon@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1982 mauroj@vt.edu
François Debrix Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0694
fdebrix@vt.edu
Bikrum Gill
Assistant Professor 508 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5491 bikrum@vt.edu
Bettina Koch Associate Professor 507 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5766
bkoch@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543
moehler@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4848
rmscott@vt.edu
Desirée Poets
Assistant Professor 510 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5681
dpoets@vt.edu
Audrey Reeves
Assistant Professor 512 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9944
audreyreeves@vt.edu
Brett L. Shadle Professor 428 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8362
shadle@vt.edu
Balbir K Singh
Assistant Professor
211 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6810
bksingh@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Danna Agmon Associate Professor 412 Major Williams Hall 
540-231-8307
dagmon@vt.edu
Onwubiko Agozino Professor 526B McBryde Hall 540-231-7699
agozino@vt.edu
Aaron Ansell Associate Professor
112 Lane Hall 540-231-0491
aansell@vt.edu
Clair Apodaca Associate Professor 525 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5310
apodaca@vt.edu
Paul C. Avey Assistant Professor 513 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6814
pcavey@vt.edu
Mark V. Barrow, Jr. Professor 431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4099
barrow@vt.edu
France Bélanger Professor 3009 Pamplin Hall
540-231-6720
belanger@vt.edu
Gabriel Blouin-Genest Assistant Professor 220 Stanger St 540-231-7665 gblouin@vt.edu
Daniel Breslau Associate Professor 235 Lane Hall
540-231-8472
dbreslau@vt.edu
Aaron Brantly Assistant Professor
520 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9045
abrantly@vt.edu
Brian Britt Professor
111 Lane Hall 540-231-5118 bbritt@vt.edu
David L. Brunsma Professor  560 McBryde Hall (0137)
540-231-8723 brunsmad@vt.edu
C.L. Bohannon Assistant Professor 120E Burruss Hal
540-231-9866
cl@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1982
mauroj@vt.edu
Nicholas Copeland Assistant Professor 524 McBryde Hall 540-231-2768 ncopel@vt.edu
Cara Daggett Assistant Professor
510 Major Williams Hall
540-231-
cdaggett@vt.edu
Giselle Datz
Associate Professor
  703- 706-8112
gdatz@vt.edu 
François Debrix Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0694
fdebrix@vt.edu
Priya Dixit Associate Professor 
511 McBryde Hall 540-231-5323 pdixit@vt.edu
A. Roger Ekirch Professor 437 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8381 arekrich@vt.edu
Tom Ewing Professor and Associate Dean 260D Wallace Hall 540-231-3212 etewing@vt.edu

Jessica Folkart

Professor 323 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9076
jfolkart@vt.edu
Matthew R. Gabriele Professor 1319 East Ambler Johnston Hall
540-231-2207 mgabriele@vt.edu
Thomas Gardner Alumni Distinguished Professor 417 Shanks Hall 540-231-6901
tom.gardner@vt.edu
Jim Garrison Professor 400B War Memorial Hall 540-231-8331
wesley@vt.edu
Bikrum Gill
Assistant Professor
508 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5491 
bikrum@vt.edu 
Edward J. K. Gitre Assistant Professor
432 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1722
egitre@vt.edu
Carmen Gitre Assistant Professor 411 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5216
cgitre@vt.edu
Nicholas Goedert
Assistant Professor 512 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7665
ngoedert@vt.edu
Heather Gumbert Associate Professor 406 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8378
hgumbert@vt.edu
Anthony K. Harrison Associate Professor, Gloria D. Smith Professor of Africana Studies 678 McBryde Hall
540-231-4519
kwame@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Edward S. Diggs Professor in the Humanities 206 Shanks Hall
540-231-5076
bhausman@vt.edu
Matthew Heaton Associate Professor 409 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8361
mheaton@vt.edu
Rebecca Hester Assistant Professor 235 Lane Hall 540-231-8359
rjhester@vt.edu
Karen Hult Professor and Chair of Political Science 531D Major Williams Hall
540-231-5836
khult@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Associate Professor 226 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
Eric Jardine 
Assistant Professor
508 Major Williams Hall
540-232-8681
ejardine@vt.edu

Caitlin E. Jewitt

Assistant Professor

522 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7544
cjewitt@vt.edu
Sylvester Johnson  Professor and Director of the Center for Humanities
315 Lane Hall 
540-231-9120 
saj240@vt.edu
Sharon P. Johnson Associate Professor 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859
spjohnson@vt.edu
Melanie Kiechle Associate Professor 417 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7523 mkiechle@vt.edu
Jason P. Kelly Assistant Professor 517 Major Williams Hall 540-231-2839 jpkelly@vt.edu
James C. Klagge Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8487
jklagge@vt.edu
Bettina Koch Associate Professor 507 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5766
bkoch@vt.edu
Christine Labuski Associate Professor 518 McBryde Hall 540-231-2765
chrislab@vt.edu
Robert (Bob) Leonard Professor 320 Henderson Hall 540-231-9299
bob.leonard@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0639
lind1279@vt.edu
Ilja A. Luciak Professor 521 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5246
iluciak@vt.edu
Allan Lumba Assistant Professor 413 Major Williams Hall   lumba@vt.edu
Timothy W. Luke University Distinguished Professor
539 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6633 twluke@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543
moehler@vt.edu
Marian Mollin Associate Professor 419 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8367

mmollin@vt.edu

Wayne D. Moore

Associate Professor

505 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5478
wmoore@vt.edu
Scott G. Nelson Associate Professor
519 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5629
scnelson@vt.edu
Amy Nelson Associate Professor 419 Major Williams Hall 
540-231-8369
anelson@vt.edu
Zhange Ni Associate Professor 
204 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1823
nizhange@vt.edu
Philip Olson Associate Professor 333 Lane Hall
540-231-1119
prolson@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor 231 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8489
critique@vt.edu

Shaily Patel 

Assistant Professor

207 Major Williams 

540-232-8456

shailyp@vt.edu

Joseph C. Pitt Professor 237 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5760
jcpitt@vt.edu
Luke P. Plotica

Assistant Professor

526 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7614
luke.plotica@vt.edu
Desiree Poets
Assistant Professor
510 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5681
dpoets@vt.edu
Paulo Polanah Associate Professor 670 McBryde Hall 540-231-5650
ppolanah@vt.edu
Katrina M. Powell Director, Women’s and Gender Studies 507 McBryde Hall 540-231-5923
kmpowell@vt.edu
Karl Precoda
Advanced Instructor
251-D Henderson Hall
540-231-6486
karlp@vt.edu
Anita M. Puckett
Associate Professor
133 Lane Hall
540-231-9526 apuckett@vt.edu
Besnik Pula Assistant Professor 524 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8475
bpula@vt.edu
Audrey Reeves
Assistant Professor
512 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9944
audreyreeves@vt.edu
Patrick Roberts Associate Professor 1021 Prince Street   robertsp@vt.edu
John Ryan Professor and Chair 560 McBryde Hall 540-231-9396
johnryan@vt.edu
Michael Saffle Professor 243 Lane Hall
540-231-6080
msaffle@vt.edu
Emily M. Satterwhite Associate Professor
344 Lane Hall
540-231-8779
satterwhite@vt.edu
Andrew Scerri Assistant Professor
515 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8843
ajscerri@vt.edu
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor
321 Lane Hall 540-231-8377
pschmitt@vt.edu
Helen Schneider Associate Professor
421 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8373
hms@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4848
rmscott@vt.edu
Paula Seniors Associate Professor
672 McBryde Hall 
540-231-7205
mrp@vt.edu 
Brett L. Shadle Professor 428 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8362
shadle@vt.edu
Ashley Shew Assistant Professor
116 Lane Hall 540-231-1810 shew@vt.edu
Balbir Singh
Assistant Professor
211 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6810
bksingh@vt.edu
Robert P. Stephens Associate Professor 
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6770
rosteph2@vt.edu
Max Stephenson Professor
201 West Roanoke St. 540-231-6775
mstephen@vt.edu
Yannis Stivachtis Associate Professor
119 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5816
ystivach@vt.edu
Gresilda Tilley-Lubbs Associate Professor
300E War Memorial Hall 540-231-4658
glubbs@vt.edu
Gerard Toal Professor 1021 Prince St. Alexandria, VA 703-706-8113
toalg@vt.edu
Sharone L. Tomer 
Assistant Professor
    stomer@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Assistant Professor
223 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8948 trogdon@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh Associate Professor
339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362
vinodhv@vt.edu
Peter Wallenstein Professor
402 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8376
pwallens@vt.edu
Janell Watson Professor of French
341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009
rjwatson@vt.edu
Edward Weisband Edward S. Diggs Endowed Chair in the Social Sciences 501 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5298
weisband@vt.edu
Daniel Wodak Assistant Professor
217 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8644 
dwodak@vt.edu
Laura Zanotti Associate Professor
509 Major Williams Hall 540-231-2750
lzanotti@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Elizabeth Fine Professor 202 Major Williams Hall 540-231-0698 bfine@vt.edu
Ann Laberge Associate Professor
333 Lane Hall
540-231-7008
alaberge@vt.edu
Richard Rich Professor
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6571
rrich@vt.edu
Bob Siegle Professor
215 Shanks Hall
540-231-7739
bob.siegle@vt.edu
Richard Shingles Associate Professor
    shingles@vt.edu
Barbara E. Smith Professor 522 McBryde Hall
540-231-8189
smithbe@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Craig Leonard Brians        
Wolfgang Natter