The College is pleased to announce the following promotion and tenure decisions by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors at its June 8 meeting.  

Promoted to associate professor with tenure were:  Paul Avey, Political Science; Aaron Brantly, Political Science; Katharine ClelandEnglishCharles DyePerforming ArtsErin Hopkins, Apparel, Housing, and Resource ManagementCaitlin Jewitt, Political Science; Richard Masters, Performing Arts; Richard PhillipsModern and Classical Languages and LiteraturesAshley Reed, English; Carolyn ShiversHuman Development and Family ScienceStephanie SmithCommunication; and Lee VinselScience, Technology, and Society.  

Promoted to the rank of professor were:  Brenda BrandEducationAarnes Gudmestad, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; Yasuo Miyazaki, Education; Derek Mueller, English; Kelly Pender, English; Rachel Scott, Religion and CultureMatthew Vollmer, English; Thomas Williams, Education; and Bonnie ZareSociology.  

Kirsten Rutsala, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures, was promoted to collegiate assistant professor; and Joseph Mukuni, Education, was promoted to Collegiate Associate Professor.  

The following faculty were promoted to advanced instructor:  Ingrid Johnson, English; Ragheda Nassereddine, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; Christine Steer, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; and Hannah Wildman ShortPhilosophy.