Office of the Dean

OFFICE OF THE DEAN — COLLEGE ACADEMIC AND ADMINISTRATIVE AFFAIRS

260 Wallace Hall (0426)
295 West Campus Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6779
Fax: 540-231-7157

Executive Assistant
Tasia Persson
liberalartsdean@vt.edu
540-231-6779

Undergraduate Studies

Current students seeking academic support should contact Karen Watson at 540-231-6770 or watsonk@vt.edu.

Prospective students are encouraged to contact Monica Kimbrell at 540-231-7602 or mkimbrel@vt.edu.

Visit our office at 238 Wallace Hall, 295 West Campus Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Associate Dean for 
Undergraduate Academic Affairs
Daniel Thorp
wachau@vt.edu
540-231-6770

Assistant Dean
Monica Kimbrell
mkimbrel@vt.edu
540-231-7602

Director of Academic Support
Karen Watson
watsonk@vt.edu
540-231-6770

Assistant Director
Meghan Jester
meghan09@vt.edu
540-231-5959

Assistant to Associate Dean
Lisa K. Burns 
lkburns@vt.edu

540-231-3325

Enrollment Services Assistant
Danielle Thompson
ddthomps@vt.edu
540-231-6770

Graduate Studies and Research

Current students seeking academic support should call Ivica Ico Bukvic at 540-231-3212 or email him at ico@vt.edu.

Interim Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research and
Director for College Diversity Initiatives
Ivica Ico Bukvic
ico@vt.edu
540-231-3212

Administrative Assistant
Tina Cox
tinalc@vt.edu
540-231-6426

Academic Policies and Procedures

Associate Dean for Academic Policies and Procedures
Debra Stoudt
dstoudt@vt.edu
540-231-8714

Administrative Assistant
Tina Cox
tinalc@vt.edu
540-231-6426

Advancement

Assistant Dean of Advancement
Daniel Cleveland
dcleveland@vt.edu
540-231-8014

Development Associate
LaTawnya Burleson
latawnya@vt.edu
540-231-5380

Alumni

Director of Alumni Relations
Christina Miller
millercd@vt.edu
540-231-8364

Finance and Administration

Associate Dean for Finance and Administration
Brian Shabanowitz
bshabano@vt.edu
540-231-8869

Business Manager
Debbie Alvis
dsalvis@vt.edu
540-231-7379

Business Operations Specialist 
Brandon Dove
mdbran8@vt.edu
540-231-6428

Personnel Manager
Stacey Farley
stfarley@vt.edu
540-231-1798

Budget Analyst
Kathy Rogers
karogers@vt.edu
540-231-4790

IT Support Specialist
Neal Kegley
nkegley@vt.edu
540-232-8699

Marketing and Communications 

Web Applications Analyst and College Network Liaison 
Adnan Saeed
saeedm@vt.edu
540-231-2283

Contact for technical issues related to College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences websites.

Director of Marketing and Communications
Paula Byron
pbyron@vt.edu
540-232-8574

Contact for content requests for the college news site, as well as media inquiries.

Manager of Marketing and Communications
Leslie King
lsking@vt.edu
540-232-8486

Contact for photography requests as well as updates to content pages for the main college website. Requests for changes to pages for the college’s majors and minors should be submitted to Monica Kimbrell.