At its June 8 meeting, the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors approved promotions and tenure for faculty members throughout the university, including more than two dozen in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences.

“Congratulations to all these wonderfully deserving faculty members,” said Laura Belmonte, dean of the college. “We are so proud of their innovative teaching, thoughtful scholarship, and service to the Virginia Tech community.”

Recent promotions in the college include:

Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

  • Paul Avey, Political Science
  • Aaron Brantly, Political Science
  • Katharine Cleland, English
  • Charles Dye, School of Performing Arts
  • Erin Hopkins, Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management
  • Caitlin Jewitt, Political Science
  • Richard Masters, School of Performing Arts
  • Richard Phillips, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
  • Ashley Reed, English
  • Carolyn Shivers, Human Development and Family Science
  • Stephanie Smith, School of Communication
  • Lee Vinsel, Science, Technology, and Society

Promotion to Professor

  • Brenda Brand, School of Education
  • Aarnes Gudmestad, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
  • Yasuo Miyazaki, School of Education
  • Derek Mueller, English
  • Kelly Pender, English
  • Rachel Scott, Religion and Culture
  • J. Matthew Vollmer, English
  • Thomas Williams, School of Education
  • Bonnie Zare, Sociology

Promotion to Advanced Instructor

  • Ingrid Johnson, English
  • Ragheda Nassereddine, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
  • Christine Steer, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures
  • Hannah Wildman Short, Philosophy

Promotion to Collegiate Assistant Professor

  • Kirsten Rutsala, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

Promotion to Collegiate Associate Professor

  • Joseph Mukuni, School of Education