The College is pleased to announce the following promotion and tenure decisions by the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors at its June 2 meeting. 

Promoted to associate professor with tenure were: Katie Carmichael, EnglishNicholas CopelandSociologyCarmen Gitre, HistoryDennis HalpinHistoryMichael HorningCommunicationJung Eun LeeApparel, Housing, and Resource ManagementBesnik PulaPolitical ScienceClaire RobbinsEducationJason (Micah) Roos, Sociology; Ashley ShewScience, Technology, and SocietyBrian ThorsettPerforming ArtsAbby Walker, English; and Brandi Watkins, Communication.

Promoted to the rank of professor were: Ivica (Ico) Bukvic, Performing Arts; Hsiu (Jessie) Chen-Yu, Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management; Charlene Eska, English; Carlos Evia Puerto, Communication; Patricia Fisher, Apparel, Housing, and Resource Management; Anthony (Kwame) Harrison, Sociology; Bettina Koch, Political Science and ASPECT Core Faculty; Erika Meitner, English; Su Fang Ng, English; Anthony Peguero, Sociology; Cynthia SmithHuman Development and Family Science; and Ioannis (Yannis) Stivachtis, Political Science.

The following faculty were promoted to Advanced Instructor: Hannah (Netta) Baker, English; Shaun Baker, English; Sean Conaway, English; Yasuko KumazawaModern and Classical Languages and Literatures; and Tatiana McKagen, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures. Karen Gallagher, Human Development and Family Science, and Karl Precoda, Performing Arts, were recognized with promotion to senior instructor. 

David Kniola, Education, was promoted to assistant professor of practice. 

Eric Lyon, Performing Arts, received promotion to professor of practice. 

Andrea (Annie) Hesp, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures, Gregory NovackPhilosophy, and Heidi Williams, Sociology, were promoted to collegiate assistant professor. Bettibel (Betti) Kreye, Education, was recognized with promotion to clinical professor.