Our Faculty

At the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, we have world-class faculty doing groundbreaking research in a variety of disciplines. Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Sociology's faculty members and their respective specialties.

Sociology Faculty
Onwubiko Agozino Professor 562a McBryde Hall
540-231-7699 agozino@vt.edu
Shannon Elizabeth Bell
Associate Professor 510 McBryde Hall
540-231-4445 sbell33@vt.edu
David L. Brunsma Professor of Sociology 654 McBryde Hall
540-231-8723 brunsmad@vt.edu
Kaitlin Boyle
Assistant Professor
674 McBryde Hall
540-231-6074
kmboyle@vt.edu
Toni M. Calasanti Professor 648 McBryde Hall
540-231-8961 toni@vt.edu
Sam Cook Director, American Indian Studies 644 McBryde Hall
540-231-9596 sacook2@vt.edu
Nicholas Copeland Assistant Professor 524 McBryde Hall
540-231-2768 ncopel@vt.edu
Ellington Graves Director, Africana Studies 562b McBryde Hall
540-231-7343 egraves@vt.edu
Anthony K. Harrison Associate Professor, Gloria D. Smith Professor of Africana Studies 678 McBryde Hall 540-231-4519 kwame@vt.edu
James E. Hawdon Director, Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention 205A Norris Hall 540-231-7476 hawdonj@vt.edu
Michael Hughes Professor 652 McBryde Hall 540-231-8967 mdh@vt.edu
Sharon Johnson
Director, Women's and Gender Studies
507a McBryde Hall
540-231-5932
spjohnso@vt.edu
Lindsay Kahle Instructor  521 McBryde Hall
540-231-8839
lindsk87@vt.edu
Jill Kiecolt Professor 668 McBryde Hall 540-231-8973 kiecolt@vt.edu
Neal M. King Professor 642 McBryde Hall 540-231-8174 nmking@vt.edu
Christine Labuski Assistant Professor 518 McBryde Hall 540-231-2765 chrislab@vt.edu
Sarah Ovink Assistant Professor 504 McBryde Hall 540-231-2481 sovink@vt.edu
Anthony A. Peguero Associate Professor 506 McBryde Hall 540-231-2549 anthony.peguero@vt.edu
Paulo Polanah Associate Professor 670 McBryde Hall 540-231-5650 ppolanah@vt.edu
Karl Precoda Advanced Instructor - Cinema Studies, Dramaturgy 251D Henderson Hall 540-231-6486 karlp@vt.edu
Wornie Reed Director, Race and Social Policy Center 564 McBryde Hall 540-231-3496 wornie@vt.edu
Ashley Reichelmann Assistant Professor
676 McBryde Hall
540-231-5651
avr@vt.edu
J. Micah Roos
Assistant Professor
656 McBryde Hall
540-231-8969
jmroos@vt.edu
John Ryan Professor and Chair 560 McBryde Hall 540-231-9396 johnryan@vt.edu
Suchitra Samanta Assistant Professor 546 McBryde Hall 540-231-7528 ssamanta@vt.edu
Donna Sedgwick Instructor 649 McBryde Hall 540-231-8965 sedgwick@vt.edu
Paula Seniors Associate Professor 672 McBryde Hall 540-231-7205 pseniors@vt.edu
Donald J. Shoemaker Professor 512 McBryde Hall 540-231-6046 shoemake@vt.edu
Anastasia V. Yuan Associate Professor 646 McBryde Hall 540-231-5641 avy@vt.edu
Williams Heidi Instructor 
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-
hmwill07@vt.edu
Dale Wimberley Associate Professor 640 McBryde Hall 540-231-8960 wimberley@vt.edu
Bonnie Zare
Associate Professor
522 McBryde Hall
540-231-8189
bonzare@vt.edu
Haiyan Zhu Assistant Professor 650 McBryde Hall 540-231-9641 zhuh09@vt.edu