Contact Us (Department of Sociology)

225 Stanger Street, 560 McBryde Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, Phone: 540-231-8971, E-mail: soc@vt.edu

Blacksburg Campus:

Visit Our Office

560 McBryde Hall (0137)
225 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Call Us

Phone: 540-231-8971

FAX: 540-231-3860

E-mail Us

soc@vt.edu

Contact Chair:

James E. Hawdon, Director, Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention and Interim Chair, Department of Sociology
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-7476
hawdonj@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Brenda Husser, Office Manager
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-6878
bhusser@vt.edu

Business and Fiscal Inquiries:

Tish Glosh, Fiscal Technician
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

Visit us at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061. 

Prospective Students Inquiries:

Samantha Schaller, Undergraduate Programs Specialist
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8971
schaller@vt.edu

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Amanda Karnes, Undergraduate Academic Advisor 
519 McBryde Hall
540-231-7646
amandak18@vt.edu

Visit our office at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Director of Graduate Studies:

Shannon Bell, Director of Graduate Studies
674 McBryde Hall
540-231-4445
sbell33@vt.edu

Graduate Studies Director:

Ellington Graves, Director of Africana Studies
562 McBryde Hall
540-231-7343
egraves@vt.edu

Graduate Studies Director:

Sharon Johnson, Director of Women's and Gender Studies
507a McBryde Hall
540-231-5932
spjohnso@vt.edu

Graduate Studies Director:

Sam Cook, Director of American Indian Studies
644 McBryde Hall
540-231-9596
sacook2@vt.edu

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Tish Glosh, Graduate Coordinator
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

Visit the center for advising support at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061. 

General Students Inquiries:

Samantha Schaller, Undergraduate Programs Specialist
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8971
schaller@vt.edu

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Amanda Karnes, Undergraduate Academic Advisor 
519 McBryde Hall
540-231-7646
amandak18@vt.edu

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Tish Glosh , in person, by email at glosht@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-8972.

Visit our office at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Tish Glosh, Graduate Coordinator
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

Director of Graduate Studies:

Shannon Bell, Director of Graduate Studies
674 McBryde Hall
540-231-4445
sbell33@vt.edu

Graduate Studies Director:

Ellington Graves, Director of Africana Studies
562 McBryde Hall
540-231-7343
egraves@vt.edu

Graduate Studies Director:

Sharon Johnson, Director of Women's and Gender Studies
507a McBryde Hall
540-231-5932
spjohnso@vt.edu

Graduate Studies Director:

Sam Cook, Director of American Indian Studies
644 McBryde Hall
540-231-9596
sacook2@vt.edu

IT Support Services:

Blake Smith, IT Support Specialist
653 McBryde Hall
Phone: 540-231-5292
bsmith15@vt.edu

Contact Director:

James Hawdon, Director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention
205a Norris Hall
540-231-7476
hawdonj@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Amy Splitt, Office Manager 
205 Norris Hall (0911)
495 Old Turner Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-2345
cpsvp@vt.edu

Contact Director:

Wornie Reed, Director of the Race and Social Policy Research Center
562C McBryde Hall
540-231-3496
wornie@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Amy Splitt, Office Manager 
562 McBryde Hall
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-6107
amys@vt.edu