Contact

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY

560 McBryde Hall (0137)
225 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-8971
FAX: 540-231-3860
E-mail: soc@vt.edu

Office of the Department Chair

James E. Hawdon, Director, Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention and Interim Chair, Department of Sociology
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-7476
hawdonj@vt.edu

Brenda Husser, Office Manager
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-6878
bhusser@vt.edu

Tish Glosh, Fiscal Technician
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

Blake Smith, IT Support Specialist 
653 McBryde Hall
Phone: 540-231-5292
bsmith15@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students

 

Visit the center for advising support at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061. 

Samantha Schaller
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8971
schaller@vt.edu

Brenda Husser
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-6878
bhusser@vt.edu

Graduate Students

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Tish Glosh , in person, by email at glosht@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-8972.

Visit our office at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Neal King, Director of Graduate Studies
642 McBryde Hall
540-231-8174
nmking@vt.edu

Ellington Graves, Director of Africana Studies
562 McBryde Hall
540-231-7343
egraves@vt.edu

Sharon Johnson, Director of Women's and Gender Studies
507a McBryde Hall
540-231-5932
spjohnso@vt.edu

Sam Cook, Director of American Indian Studies
644 McBryde Hall
540-231-9596
sacook2@vt.edu

Tish Glosh, Graduate Coordinator
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

James Hawdon, Director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention
205a Norris Hall
540-231-7476
hawdonj@vt.edu

Amy Splitt, Office Manager and Grant Coordinator for Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention

205 Norris Hall (0911)
495 Old Turner Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-2345
cpsvp@vt.edu

Wornie Reed, Director of the Race and Social Policy Research Center
564 McBryde Hall
540-231-3496
wornie@vt.edu

Amy Splitt, Administrative Assistant for the Race and Social Policy Center 

562 McBryde Hall
540-231-6107

amys@vt.edu