Our Faculty

At the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, we have world-class faculty doing groundbreaking research in a variety of disciplines. Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Political Science's faculty members and their respective specialties.

Political Science Faculty

A-K

Clair Apodaca
Associate Professor 525 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5310
apodaca@vt.edu
Paul Avey
Assistant Professor 513 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6814
pcavey@vt.edu
Gabriel Blouin Genest
Assistant Professor 512 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7665
gblouin@vt.edu
Ryan C. Briggs
Assistant Professor
528 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5491
ryancbriggs@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5681
mauroj@vt.edu
Daniel Cicenia
Visiting Assistant Professor 528 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5491
cicenia@vt.edu
François Debrix
Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0694
fdebrix@vt.edu
Priya Dixit
Assistant Professor 511 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5323
pdixit@vt.edu
Brandy Faulkner
Visiting Assistant Professor
537 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5351
bfaulkne@vt.edu
Karen Hult
Department Chair 531D Major Williams Hall
540-231-5242
khult@vt.edu
Caitlin E. Jewitt
Assistant Professor 522 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7544
cjewitt@vt.edu
Rohan Kalyan
Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1982 rohan22@vt.edu
Lawrence J. Kapp
OLMA Faculty   540-231-6571
kapp2011@vt.edu
Jason P. Kelly
Assistant Professor 517 Major Williams Hall
540-231-2839
jpkelly@vt.edu
Bettina Koch
Associate Professor 507 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5766
bkoch@vt.edu

L-P

Ilja A. Luciak
Professor 521 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5246
iluciak@vt.edu
Timothy W. Luke
Professor 539 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6633
twluke@vt.edu
Deborah J. Milly
Associate Professor 531 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5574
djmilly@vt.edu
Wayne D. Moore
Associate Professor 505 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5478
wmoore@vt.edu
Scott G. Nelson
Director of Graduate Studies 519 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5629
scnelson@vt.edu
Adam Newmark
OLMA Faculty   540-231-6571 anewmark@vt.edu
Lynita Newswander
OLMA Faculty     nitanews@vt.edu
Luke Philip Plotica
Assistant Professor 526 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7614
luke.plotica@vt.edu
Georgeta Pourchot
Director of OLMA / Northern Capital Region   703-721-0595
georgeta@vt.edu
Besnik Pula
Assistant Professor 524 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8475
bpula@vt.edu

Q-Z

Jong Oh Ra
Adjunct Professor 533 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5574
jora@vt.edu
Richard Rich
Professor Emeritus of Political Science 531 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6571
rrich@vt.edu
Andrew J. Scerri
Assistant Professor 515 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8843
ajscerri@vt.edu
Adriana N. Seagle
Instructional PT Temp Adjunct   540-231-6425
aseagle@vt.edu
Ioannis Stivachtis
Associate Chair 119 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5816
ystivach@vt.edu
Charles L. Taylor
Director of Undergraduate Studies 535 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5555
clt@vt.edu
Courtney I. P. Thomas
Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies 527A Major Williams Hall 540-231-2855
cipthomas@vt.edu
Josette Torres
Instructor 506 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1854
josette@vt.edu
Sandra E. Via
OLMA Faculty 531 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6571
sevia@vt.edu
Edward Weisband Edward S. Diggs Endowed Chair in the Social Sciences 501 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5298
weisband@vt.edu
Steven L. Wilson
Instructional PT Temp Adjunct 527 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6425
slw42@vt.edu
Laura Zanotti
Associate Professor 509 Major Williams Hall 540-231-2750
lzanotti@vt.edu