Contact

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

431 Major Williams Hall (0117)
220 Stanger St
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-5331
FAX: 540-231-8724
E-mail:lindaf@vt.edu

Brett L. Shadle, Department Chair
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8362 
shadle@vt.edu

Dennis P. Halpin, Associate Chair
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5168
dphalpin@vt.edu

Linda Fountaine, Admin Asst. to Chair, Office Manager, and Graduate Coordinator
431 Major Williams
540-231-5331
lindaf@vt.edu

Heath Furrow
Academic Advisor
hafurrow@vt.edu
540-231-8382

Deborah Osborne

Bookkeeper/Receptionist
431 Major Williams
540-231-3594
deo@vt.edu

Amanda SwindellIT Support Technician
420 Major Williams
540-231-5332
hoffer81@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students

Current students for academic advising, please contact Dennis P. Halpin by email: dphalpin@vt.edu or by phone 540-231-5168

Current undergraduate students requesting administrative support should contact the Academic Advisor, Heath Furrow, in person, by email at hafurrow@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-8382

Visit the center for advising support at 431 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Dennis P. Halpin, Associate Chair
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5168
dphalpin@vt.edu

Heath Furrow
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8382
hafurrow@vt.edu

Graduate Students

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Linda Fountaine, in person, by email at lindaf@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-5331.

Visit our office at 431 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Matt Heaton, Director of Graduate Studies
409 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8361
mheaton@vt.edu

Linda Fountaine, Graduate Coordinator
431 Major Williams
540-231-5331
lindaf@vt.edu

ON LEAVE FALL SEMESTER 2019

Paul Quigley, Director Virginia Center for Civil War Studies
405 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9090
pquigley@vt.edu

INTERIM  DIRECTOR
Virginia Center for Civil War Studies
Melanie A. Kiechle
417 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7523
mkiechle@vt.edu