Virginia Tech®home

Contact

Blacksburg Campus:

Visit Our Office:

331 Major Williams Hall (0225)
Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Call Us:

Phone: 540-231-5361

E-mail Us:
Erin Hale 
emhale@vt.edu

Contact Chair:

Janell Watson
Department Chair
331C Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
 rjwatson@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Terri Allen, Program Support Tech Sr.
331B Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
byrdt@vt.edu

Business and Fiscal Inquiries:

Katie Akers, Fiscal Tech.
331A Major Williams Hall
540-231-2571
klavt@vt.edu

Enrollment Services Inquiries:

Erin Hale, Enrollment Service Specialist
331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5361
emhale@vt.edu

Visit our office at 331 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Arabic Studies Inquiries:

Nadine Sinno, Coordinator Arabic Studies
306 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
nadine7@vt.edu

Chinese Studies Inquiries:

Tinting Zhao, Program Director
Chinese Studies
316 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
tzhao@vt.edu

French Studies Inquiries:

Richard Shryock, Coordinator French Studies
335 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4605
shryockr@vt.edu

German Studies Inquiries:

Esther Bauer, Coordinator German Studies
330 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9846
bauere@vt.edu

Hebrew Studies Inquiries:

Janell Watson, Department Chair
331C Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
rjwatson@vt.edu

Italian Studies Inquiries:

Melissa Coburn, Coordinator
Italian Studies
328 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
mcoburn8@vt.edu

Japanese Studies Inquiries:

Jeremy Sather, Coordinator
326 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
jsather@vt.edu

Classical Studies Inquiries:

Richard Phillips, Coordinator
303 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
rphllps@vt.edu

Modern Greek Studies Inquiries:

Maria Hatzios, Coordinator Modern Greek Studies
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362
mhatzios@vt.edu

Russian Studies Inquiries:

Yuliya Minkova, Coordinator
Russian Studies
309 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
yuliyam1@vt.edu

Spanish Studies Inquiries:

Aarnes Gudmestad, Coordinator Spanish Studies
319 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4605
agudmest@vt.edu

Visit our office at 331 major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Director of Graduate Studies:

Jessica Folkart, Director of Graduate Studies
323 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
jfolkart@vt.edu

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Erin Hale, Enrollment Services Specialist 
331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5361
emhale@vt.edu

Visit our office at 331 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Arabic Studies Inquiries:

Nadine Sinno, Coordinator Arabic Studies
306 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
nadine7@vt.edu

Chinese Studies Inquiries:

Tinting Zhao, Program Director
Chinese Studies
316 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
tzhao@vt.edu

French Studies Inquiries:

Richard Shryock, Coordinator French Studies
335 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4605
shryockr@vt.edu

German Studies Inquiries:

Esther Bauer, Coordinator German Studies
330 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9846
bauere@vt.edu

Hebrew Studies Inquiries:

Ester Hallerman, Coordinator Hebrew Studies
306 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
esterh56@vt.edu

Italian Studies Inquiries:

Melissa Coburn, Coordinator
Italian Studies
328 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
mcoburn8@vt.edu

Japanese Studies Inquiries:

Yasuko Kumazawa, Coordinator Japanese Studies
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362
kumazawa@vt.edu

Classical Studies Inquiries:

Andrew Becker, Coordinator Latin and Ancient Greek (Classical Studies)
337 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
andrew.becker@vt.edu

Modern Greek Studies Inquiries:

Maria Hatzios, Coordinator Modern Greek Studies
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362
mhatzios@vt.edu

Russian Studies Inquiries:

Robert Efird, Coordinator
Russian Studies
305 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
refird@vt.edu

Spanish Studies Inquiries:

Aarnes Gudmestad, Coordinator Spanish Studies
319 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4605
agudmest@vt.edu

Current graduate students for academic support should contact the director of graduate studies, Jessica Folkart in person, by email at jfolkart@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-5362.

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Erin Hale in person, by email at emhale@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-5361.

Visit our office at 331 major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Erin Hale, Enrollment Services Specialist
331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5361
emhale@vt.edu

Director of Graduate Studies:

Jessica Folkart, Director of Graduate Studies
339 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
jfolkart@vt.edu

IT Support Services:

Carolyn Kletnieks, IT Support Specialist 
218 Major Williams
540-231-5433
carolynk@vt.edu

If you have questions about anything Project GO, please contact us: 

Contact Director:

Dr. Robert Efird (Russian)  
Associate Professor 
Director of Russian Program
PI, Project GO
refird@vt.edu

Dr. Nadine Sinno (Arabic)
Associate Professor
Director of Arabic Program
Co-PI, Project GO 
nadine7@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Rhonda Pennington
Project GO Coordinator
540-231-9160
rwills@vt.edu