Virginia Tech™home

Contact Department of English

181 Turner Street NW, 323 Shanks Hall (0112), Blacksburg, VA 24061 Phone: 540-231-6501 english_department@vt.edu

Blacksburg Campus:

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: 540-231-6501
FAX: 540-231-5692
Email: english_department@vt.edu

Contact Chair:

Joseph Eska
Interim Department Chair
303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
eska@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Patty Norris
Assistant to the Chair
305 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
pattym1@vt.edu

Contact Associate Chair:

Kelly Pender
Associate Chair
306 Shanks Hall
540-231-5152
pender@vt.edu

Contact Assistant Chair:

Jennifer Mooney
Assistant Chair
301 Shanks Hall
540-231-6513
jenmoon@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Bridget Szerszynski
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-6501
bridgs9@vt.edu

Business Inquiries:

Kristen Cox
Bookkeeper
315 Shanks Hall
540-231-6350
krcox1@vt.edu

Visit us at 329C Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Prospective Students Inquiries:

Laura Ferguson
Advising Coordinator
329C Shanks Hall
540-231-6515
lauraf92@vt.edu

Visit our office at 323A Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Director of Ph.D. Program:

Katrina Powell
Director, Ph.D. Program in Rhetoric and Writing
340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

Director of M.F.A. Program:

Carmen Giménez Smith
Director 
M.F.A. in Creative Writing Program
201 Shanks Hall 
540-231-7696
carmens@vt.edu

Director of M.A. Program:

Gena Chandler-Smith
Director M.A. in English 
213 Shanks Hall
540-231-7796
gechandl@vt.edu

Current students for academic support, please call Laura Ferguson at 540-231-6515 or email: lauraf92@vt.edu

Visit the Center for Advising Support at 329C Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Laura Ferguson
Advising Coordinator
329C Shanks Hall
540-231-6515
lauraf92@vt.edu

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Sally Shupe , in person, by email at sashupe@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-4659.

Visit our office at 323A Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Director of Ph.D. Program:

Katrina Powell
Director, Ph.D. Program in Rhetoric and Writing
340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Sally Shupe
Graduate Student Coordinator
323A Shanks Hall
540-231-4659
sashupe@vt.edu

Director of M.F.A. Program:

Carmen Giménez Smith
Director 
M.F.A. in Creative Writing Program
201 Shanks Hall
540-231-7696
carmens@vt.edu

Director of M.A. Program:

Gena Chandler-Smith
Director M.A. in English 
213 Shanks Hall
540-231-7796
gechandl@vt.edu

IT Support Services:

Eve Trager
335 Shanks Hall (0311)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone: 540-231-6566

etrager@vt.edu

Contact Director:

Katrina Powell
Director
Center for Rhetoric in Society
340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

Contact Director:

Jennifer Lawrence
Director
Writing Center
2005 Newman Library
540-231-9270
jlwrnc@vt.edu

Graduate Writing Support:

Katie Garahan
Graduate Writing Support
2005 Newman Library
540-231-5436
kgarahan@vt.edu

Outreach and Multilingual Services:

Brooke Covington
Outreach and Multilingual Services
2005 Newman Library
540-231-5436
brookec9@vt.edu