DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6501
Fax: 540-231-5692
english_department@vt.edu

Office of the Department Chair

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6501
Fax: 540-231-5692
english_department@vt.edu

Bernice Hausman
Department Chair
303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu

Kelly Pender
Associate Chair
306 Shanks Hall
540-231-5152
pender@vt.edu

Jennifer Mooney
Assistant Chair
301 Shanks Hall
540-231-6513
jenmoon@vt.edu

Patty Morse
Assistant to the Chair
305 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
pattym1@vt.edu

Bridget Szerszynski
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-6501
bridgs9@vt.edu

Judy Grady
Bookkeeper
315 Shanks Hall
540-231-6350
jbgrady@vt.edu

Mary Denson Moore
Coordinator of Alumni Relations
208 Shanks Hall
540-231-7693
mmoore@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students


Current students for academic support, please call Laura Ferguson at 540-231-6515 or email: lauraf92@vt.edu

Visit the Center for Advising Support at 329C Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Laura Ferguson
Advising Coordinator
329C Shanks Hall
540-231-6515
lauraf92@vt.edu

Graduate Students


Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Sarah Helwig , in person, by email at shelwig@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-4659.

Visit our office at 310 Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Katrina Powell
Director
Ph.D. Program in Rhetoric and Writing

340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

Erika Meitner
Director
M.F.A. in Creative Writing Program

410 Shanks Hall
540-231-7728
meitner@vt.edu

Charlene Eska
Director
M.A. in English Program

312 Shanks Hall
540-231-2374
ceska@vt.edu

Sarah Helwig
Graduate Student Coordinator
310 Shanks Hall
540-231-4659
shelwig2@vt.edu

Katrina Powell
Director

Center for Rhetoric in Society
340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

The Writing Center provides writing support for all Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.  For more information, please see our website.

Jennifer Lawrence
Director
Writing Center
2005 Newman Library
540-231-9270
jlwrnc@vt.edu

Katie Garahan
Graduate Writing Support
2005 Newman Library
540-231-5436
kgarahan@vt.edu

Brooke Covington
Outreach and Multilingual Services
2005 Newman Library
540-231-5436
brookec9@vt.edu