Virginia Tech®home

Contact Department of English

181 Turner Street NW, 323 Shanks Hall (0112), Blacksburg, VA 24061 Phone: 540-231-6501 english_department@vt.edu

Blacksburg Campus:

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Phone: 540-231-6501
FAX: 540-231-5692
Email: english_department@vt.edu

Contact Chair:

Rebecca Weaver-Hightower
Department Chair
303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
rebeccawh@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Patty Norris
Assistant to the Chair
305 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
pattym1@vt.edu

Contact Associate Chair:

Gena Chandler
Associate Chair
213 Shanks Hall 
540-231-7796
gechandl@vt.edu

Contact Assistant Chair:

Jared Gibbs
Assistant Chair
425 Shanks Hall
540-231-0688
jagibbs2@vt.edu

Administrative Questions:

Bridget Szerszynski
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-6501
bridgs9@vt.edu

Business Inquiries:

Andrew Fortin
Business Manager
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-6350
afortin@vt.edu

Visit us at 329C Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Prospective Students Inquiries:

Laura Ferguson
Advising Coordinator
329C Shanks Hall
540-231-6515
lauraf92@vt.edu

Visit our office at 323A Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Director of Ph.D. Program:

Kelly Pender
Director
Ph.D. Program in Rhetoric and Writing
332 Shanks Hall
540-231-9077
pender@vt.edu

Director of M.F.A. Program:

Matthew Vollmer
Director
M.F.A. in Creative Writing
431 Shanks Hall
540-231-8322
vollmer@vt.edu

Director of M.A. Program:

Katharine Cleland
Director
M.A. in English 
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-8287
kcleland@vt.edu

Current students for academic support, please call Laura Ferguson at 540-231-6515 or email: lauraf92@vt.edu

Visit the Center for Advising Support at 329C Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Laura Ferguson
Advising Coordinator
329C Shanks Hall
540-231-6515
lauraf92@vt.edu

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Marie Trimmer, in person, by email at mtrimmer@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-4659.

Visit our office at 323A Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Director of Ph.D. Program:

Kelly Pender
Director
Ph.D. Program in Rhetoric and Writing
332 Shanks Hall
540-231-9077
pender@vt.edu

Academic Support/Advising Services:

Marie Trimmer
Graduate Programs Coodinator
310 Shanks Hall
540-231-4659 
mtrimmer@vt.edu

Director of M.F.A. Program:

Matthew Vollmer
Director
M.F.A. in Creative Writing
431 Shanks Hall
540-231-8322
vollmer@vt.edu

Director of M.A. Program:

Katharine Cleland
Director
M.A. in English 
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-8287
kcleland@vt.edu

IT Support Services:

Eve Trager
335 Shanks Hall (0311)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone: 540-231-6566

etrager@vt.edu

Contact Directors:

Bruce McComiskey
Director
Center for Rhetoric in Society
Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
mbruce21@vt.edu

Contact Director:

Jennifer Lawrence
Director
Writing Center
2005 Newman Library
540-231-9270
jlwrnc@vt.edu

Schedule a Consultation: