DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH

323 Shanks Hall (0112)
181 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6501
Fax: 540-231-5692
english_department@vt.edu

Bernice Hausman
Department Chair
303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu

Kelly Pender
Associate Chair
306 Shanks Hall
540-231-5152
pender@vt.edu

Jennifer Mooney
Assistant Chair
301 Shanks Hall
540-231-6513
jenmoon@vt.edu

Patty Morse
Assistant to the Chair
305 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
pattym1@vt.edu

Bridget Szerszynski
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
323 Shanks Hall
540-231-6501
bridgs9@vt.edu

Judy Grady
Bookkeeper
315 Shanks Hall
540-231-6350
jbgrady@vt.edu

Mary Denson Moore
Coordinator of Alumni Relations
208 Shanks Hall
540-231-7693
mmoore@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students

Current students for academic support, please call Laura Ferguson at 540-231-6515 or email: lauraf92@vt.edu

Visit the Center for Advising Support at 329C Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Laura Ferguson
Advising Coordinator
329C Shanks Hall
540-231-6515
lauraf92@vt.edu

Graduate Students

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Sally Shupe , in person, by email at sashupe@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-4659.

Visit our office at 323A Shanks Hall, 181 Turner Street, NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Katrina Powell
Director
Ph.D. Program in Rhetoric and Writing

340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

Erika Meitner
Director 
M.F.A. in Creative Writing Program

410 Shanks Hall
540-231-7728
meitner@vt.edu

Gena Chandler-Smith

Director M..A. in English 

213 Shanks Hall

540-231-7796

gechandl@vt.edu

Sally Shupe

Graduate Student Coordinator

323A Shanks Hall

540-231-4659

sashupe@vt.edu

CENTER FOR RHETORIC IN SOCIETY

Katrina Powell
Director

Center for Rhetoric in Society
340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu

Jennifer Lawrence
Director
Writing Center
2005 Newman Library
540-231-9270
jlwrnc@vt.edu

Katie Garahan
Graduate Writing Support
2005 Newman Library
540-231-5436
kgarahan@vt.edu

 

Brooke Covington
Outreach and Multilingual Services
2005 Newman Library
540-231-5436
brookec9@vt.edu