Faculty

Alliance for Social, Political, Ethical, and Cultural Thought Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of Alliance for Social, Political, Ethical, and Cultural Thought faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Danna Agmon Associate Professor 412 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8307 dagmon@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1982 mauroj@vt.edu
François Debrix Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major Williams Hall
540-231-0694
fdebrix@vt.edu
Bikrum Gill
Assistant Professor 508 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5491 bikrum@vt.edu
Bettina Koch Associate Professor 507 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5766
bkoch@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543
moehler@vt.edu
Desirée Poets
Assistant Professor 510 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5681
dpoets@vt.edu
Audrey Reeves
Assistant Professor 512 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9944
audreyreeves@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Assistant Professor 203 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4848 rmscott@vt.edu  
Brett L. Shadle Professor 428 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8362
shadle@vt.edu
Balbir K Singh
Assistant Professor
211 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6810
bksingh@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Danna Agmon Associate Professor 412 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8307 dagmon@vt.edu
Onwubiko Agozino Professor 526B McBryde Hall 540-231-7699 agozino@vt.edu
Aaron Ansell Associate Professor 112 Lane Hall 540-231-0491 aansell@vt.edu
Clair Apodaca Associate Professor 525 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5310 apodaca@vt.edu
Paul C. Avey Assistant Professor 513 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-6814 pcavey@vt.edu
Andrea N. Baldwin Assistant Professor 560 McBryde Hall 540-231-8971 andreanb@vt.edu
Mark V. Barrow, Jr. Professor 431 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-4099 barrow@vt.edu
France Bélanger Professor 3009 PamplinHall 540-231-6720 belanger@vt.edu
Shannon Elizabeth Bell Associate Professor 560 McBryde Hall 540-231-4445 sbell33@vt.edu 
Binio S. Binev Assistant Professor 508 Major Williams Hall  540-231-5491 biniobinev@vt.edu
C. L. Bohannon Assistant Professor 120E Burruss Hall 540-231-9866 cl@vt.edu
Aaron Brantly Assistant Professor 520 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9045 abrantly@vt.edu
Daniel Breslau Associate Professor 235 Lane Hall 540-231-8472 dbreslau@vt.edu
Brian Britt Professor 111 Lane Hall 540-231-5118 bbritt@vt.edu
David L. Brunsma Professor 560 McBryde Hall (0137) 540-231-8723 brunsmad@vt.edu
Mauro Caraccioli Assistant Professor 503 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1982 mauroj@vt.edu
Danille Christensen Assistant Professor 216 Lane Hall 540-231-5528 dec09@vt.edu
Nicholas Copeland Assistant Professor 524 McBryde Hall 540-231-2768 ncopel@vt.edu
Dr. Daggett Assistant Professor 510 Major Williams Hall   cdaggett@vt.edu
Giselle Datz Associate Professor   703- 706-8112 gdatz@vt.edu
François Debrix Professor and Director of ASPECT 202 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-0694 fdebrix@vt.edu
Priya Dixit Associate Professor 511 McBryde Hall 540-231-5323 pdixit@vt.edu
A. Roger Ekirch Professor 437 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8381 arekrich@vt.edu
Tom Ewing Professor and Associate Dean 260D Wallace Hall 540-231-3212 etewing@vt.edu
Jessica Folkart Professor 323 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9076 jfolkart@vt.edu
Matthew R. Gabriele Professor 1319 East Ambler Johnston Hall 540-231-2207 mgabriele@vt.edu
Thomas Gardner Alumni Distinguished Professor 417 Shanks Hall 540-231-6901 tom.gardner@vt.edu
Jim Garrison Professor 400B War Memorial Hall 540-231-8331 wesley@vt.edu
Bikrum Gill Assistant Professor 508 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5491 bikrum@vt.edu
Carmen Gitre Assistant Professor 411 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5216 cgitre@vt.edu
Edward J. K. Gitre Assistant Professor 432 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1722 egitre@vt.edu
Nicholas Goedert Assistant Professor 512Major Williams Hall 540-231-7665 ngoedert@vt.edu
Heather Gumbert Associate Professor 406 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8378 hgumbert@vt.edu
Anthony K. Harrison Associate Professor, Gloria D. Smith Professor of Africana Studies 678McBryde Hall 540-231-4519 kwame@vt.edu
Matthew Heaton Associate Professor 409 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8361 mheaton@vt.edu
Rebecca Hester Assistant Professor 235 Lane Hall 540-231-8359 rjhester@vt.edu
Karen Hult Professor and Chair of Political Science 531D Major Williams Hall 540-231-5836 khult@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Associate Professor 226 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
Eric Jardine Assistant Professor 508Major Williams Hall 540-232-8681 ejardine@vt.edu
Caitlin E. Jewitt Assistant Professor 522 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7544 cjewitt@vt.edu
Sharon P. Johnson Associate Professor 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859 spjohnson@vt.edu
Sylvester Johnson Professor and Director of the Center for Humanities 315 Lane Hall 540-231-9120 saj240@vt.edu
Melanie Kiechle Associate Professor 417 Major Williams Hall 540-231-7523 mkiechle@vt.edu
Karin Kitchens Assistant Professor 524 Major Williams Hall 540-232-8475 kkitchens@vt.edu
James C. Klagge Professor 229 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8487 jklagge@vt.edu
Bettina Koch Associate Professor 507 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-5766 bkoch@vt.edu
Karen Kovaka Assistant Professor 220 Major Williams Hall   kkovaka@vt.edu
Christine Labuski Associate Professor 518 McBryde Hall 540-231-2765 chrislab@vt.edu
Robert (Bob) Leonard Professor 320 Henderson Hall 540-231-9299 bob.leonard@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor 229 Major Williams Hall 540-231-0639 lind1279@vt.edu
Ilja A. Luciak Professor 521 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5246 iluciak@vt.edu
Timothy W. Luke University Distinguished Professor 539 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6633 twluke@vt.edu
Allan Lumba Assistant Professor 413 Major Williams Hall   lumba@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor 229 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-7543 moehler@vt.edu
Marian Mollin Associate Professor 419 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8367 mmollin@vt.edu
Wayne D. Moore Associate Professor 505 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5478 wmoore@vt.edu
Amy Nelson Associate Professor 419 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8369 anelson@vt.edu
Scott G. Nelson Associate Professor 519 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5629 scnelson@vt.edu
Zhange Ni Associate Professor 204 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1823 nizhange@vt.edu
Shaily Patel Assistant Professor 207 Major Williams Hall 540-232-8456 shailyp@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor 231 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8489 critique@vt.edu
Joseph C. Pitt Professor 237 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5760 jcpitt@vt.edu
Desiree Poets Assistant Professor 510 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-5681 dpoets@vt.edu
Paulo Polanah Associate Professor 670 McBryde Hall 540-231-5650 ppolanah@vt.edu
Katrina M. Powell Director, Women’s and Gender Studies 507 McBryde Hall 540-231-5923 kmpowell@vt.edu
Karl Precoda Advanced Instructor 251-D Henderson Hall 540-231-6486 karlp@vt.edu
Anita M. Puckett Associate Professor 133 Lane Hall 540-231-9526 apuckett@vt.edu
Besnik Pula Assistant Professor 524 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8475 bpula@vt.edu
Audrey Reeves Assistant Professor 512 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-9944 audreyreeves@vt.edu
Patrick Roberts Associate Professor 1021 Prince Street   robertsp@vt.edu
John Ryan Professor and Chair 560 McBryde Hall 540-231-9396 johnryan@vt.edu
Michael Saffle Professor 243 Lane Hall 540-231-6080 msaffle@vt.edu
Emily M. Satterwhite Associate Professor 344 Lane Hall 540-231-8779 satterwhite@vt.edu
Andrew Scerri Assistant Professor 515 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8843 ajscerri@vt.edu
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor 321 Lane Hall 540-231-8377 pschmitt@vt.edu
Helen Schneider Associate Professor 421 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8373 hms@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-4848 rmscott@vt.edu
Paula Seniors Associate Professor 672 McBryde Hall 540-231-7205 mrp@vt.edu
Brett L. Shadle Professor 428 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-8362 shadle@vt.edu
Ashley Shew Assistant Professor 116 Lane Hall 540-231-1810 shew@vt.edu
Balbir Singh Assistant Professor 211 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6810 bksingh@vt.edu
Robert P. Stephens Associate Professor 431 Major WilliamsHall 540-231-6770 rosteph2@vt.edu
Max Stephenson Professor 201 West Roanoke St. 540-231-6775 mstephen@vt.edu
Yannis Stivachtis Associate Professor 119 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5816 ystivach@vt.edu
Jessica Taylor Assistant Professor 431 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5331 jessicataylor@vt.edu
Gresilda Tilley-Lubbs Associate Professor 300E War Memorial Hall 540-231-4658 glubbs@vt.edu
Gerard Toal Professor 1021 Prince St. Alexandria, VA 703-706-8113 toalg@vt.edu
Sharone L. Tomer Assistant Professor     stomer@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Assistant Professor 223 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8948 trogdon@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh Associate Professor 339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 vinodhv@vt.edu
Peter Wallenstein Professor 402 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8376 pwallens@vt.edu
Janell Watson Professor of French 341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009 rjwatson@vt.edu
Edward Weisband Edward S. Diggs Endowed Chair in the Social Sciences 501 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5298 weisband@vt.edu
Laura Zanotti Associate Professor 509 Major Williams Hall 540-231-2750 lzanotti@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Elizabeth Fine Professor 202 Major Williams Hall 540-231-0698 bfine@vt.edu
Ann Laberge Associate Professor
333 Lane Hall
540-231-7008
alaberge@vt.edu
Richard Rich Professor
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6571
rrich@vt.edu
Bob Siegle Professor
215 Shanks Hall
540-231-7739
bob.siegle@vt.edu
Richard Shingles Associate Professor
    shingles@vt.edu
Barbara E. Smith Professor 522 McBryde Hall
540-231-8189
smithbe@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Craig Leonard Brians        
Wolfgang Natter