Department of Human Development and Family Science Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Human Development and Family Science faculty members and their contact information.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Katherine Allen Professor 401C Wallace Hall 540-231-6526 kallen@vt.edu
Joyce Arditti Professor 311 Wallace Hall 540-231-5758 arditti@vt.edu
Martha Ann Bell Affiliated Professor
333 Williams Hall 540-231-2546 mabell@vt.edu
Rosemary Blieszner

Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences; Alumni Distinguished Professor of Human Development

260 Wallace Hall 540-231-6779 rmb@vt.edu
Marcie Boucouvalas Professor Emerita
Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8469 marcie@vt.edu
Isabel Bradburn Research Director, Child Development Center for Learning and Research 103 Wallace Hall 540-231-1863 Isbrad@vt.edu
Koeun Choi Assistant Professor 305 Wallace Hall 540-231-5720
koeun@vt.edu
Megan Dolbin-MacNab Associate Professor 840 University City Boulevard,
Suite 1
540-231-6807 mdolbinm@vt.edu
Mariana Falconier Associate Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8461 marianak@vt.edu
April Few-Demo Professor and Department Head 401A Wallace Hall 540-231-2664 alfew@vt.edu
Karen Gallagher Director, Child Development Center for Learning and Research; Advanced Instructor
140A Wallace Hall 540-231-9815 karenrg@vt.edu
Alexa Gardner Curriculum Coordinator, Child Development Center for Learning and Research; Advanced Instructor
140D Wallace Hall 540-231-4791 alfraley@vt.edu
Erika Grafsky Associate Professor 840 University City Boulevard,
Suite 1
540-231-6782 erikagrafsky@vt.edu
Jeff Jackson Assistant Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-3787 jjax@vt.edu
Christine Kaestle Associate Professor 315 Wallace Hall 540-231-3194 kaestle@vt.edu
Benjamin Katz
Assistant Professor
307 Wallace Hall
540-231-9816 
katzben@vt.edu
Kee Jeong Kim Associate Professor 317 Wallace Hall 540-231-4671 keekim@vt.edu
Matthew Komelski Instructor 219 Wallace Hall 540-357-3822 komelski@vt.edu
Victoria Lael Instructor 105 Wallace Hall 540-231-3768 vlbvt@vt.edu
Ashley Landers
Assistant Professor
Northern Virginia Center
703-538-3796
land0552@vt.edu
Eric McCollum
Professor Emeritus
    ericmccollum@vt.edu
Bertranna Muruthi
Assistant Professor, Marriage and Family Therapy Program, National Capital Region
7054 Haycock Road, Suite 202g, Falls Church, Virginia
703-538-8491
muruthba@vt.edu
Jenene Pease
Clinical Assistant Professor
840 University City Boulevard,
Suite 1
540-231-5924
jlc1190@vt.edu
Fred Piercy
Professor Emeritus
    piercy@vt.edu
Craig Ramey Affiliated Professor
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute 540-232-8080 ctramey@vt.edu
Sharon Ramey Affiliated Professor 
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute 540-526-2033 slramey@vt.edu
Karen Roberto University Distinguished Professor 230 Grove Lane 540-231-7657 kroberto@vt.edu
Jody M. Russon Assistant Professor 840 Univ. City Blvd Suite 1 540-231-6985 jrusson@vt.edu
Laura Sands Professor 230 Grove Lane
540-231-9634 lsands@vt.edu
Tina Savla Professor 205 Grove Lane
540-231-2348 jsavla@vt.edu
Ila Schepisi Director, Adult Day Services; Advanced Instructor 102 Wallace Hall 540-231-3160 schepisi@vt.edu
Carolyn Shivers Assistant Professor 358 Wallace Hall 540-231-5434 shivercm@vt.edu
Cindy Smith Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
303 Wallace Hall 540-231-4793 smithcl@vt.edu
Eric Stachelski Instructor
  540-352-8258
erics77@vt.edu
Pamela Teaster Professor and Director, Center for Gerontology
203 Grove Lane 540-231-8958 pteaster@vt.edu
Mary Ellen Verdu Senior Instructor and Director of Undergraduate Studies 401B Wallace Hall 540-231-9099 mverdu@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Isabel Bradburn Research Director, Child Development Center for Learning and Research 103 Wallace Hall 40-231-1863 Isbrad@vt.edu
Victoria Fu Professor Emerita
309 Wallace Hall 540-231-4796 vfu@vt.edu
Christine Kaestle Associate Professor 315 Wallace Hall 540-231-3194 kaestle@vt.edu
Kee Jeong Kim Associate Professor 317 Wallace Hall 540-231-4671 keekim@vt.edu
Cindy Smith Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
303 Wallace Hall 540-231-4793 smithcl@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Katherine Allen Professor 401C Wallace Hall 540-231-6526 kallen@vt.edu
Joyce Arditti Professor 311 Wallace Hall 540-231-5758 arditti@vt.edu
Victoria Blanchard Instructor 105 Wallace Hall 540-231-3768 vlbvt@vt.edu
April Few-Demo Professor and Department Head 401A Wallace Hall 540-231-2664 alfew@vt.edu
         
Name Position Office Phone Email
Mariana Falconier Associate Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8461 marianak@vt.edu
Jeff Jackson Assistant Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-3787 jjax@vt.edu
Bertranna Muruthi
Assistant Professor 
Northern Virginia Center
703-538-8491
muruthba@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Rosemary Blieszner Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences; Alumni Distinguished Professor of Human Development
313 Wallace Hall 540-231-5437 rmb@vt.edu
Ben Katz Assistant Professor 307 Wallace Hall 540-231-9816 katzben@vt.edu
Matthew Komelski Instructor 219 Wallace Hall 540-357-3822 komelski@vt.edu
Karen Roberto University Distinguished Professor 230 Grove Lane 540-231-7657 kroberto@vt.edu
Laura Sands Professor 230 Grove Lane 540-231-9634 lsands@vt.edu
Tina Savla Professor 205 Grove Lane 540-231-2348 jsavla@vt.edu
Pamela Teaster Professor 203 Grove Lane 540-231-8958 pteaster@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Megan Dolbin-MacNab Associate Professor 840 University City Blvd., Suite 1 540-231-6807 mdolbinm@vt.edu
Erika Grafsky Assistant Professor 840 University City Blvd., Suite 1 540-231-6782 erikagrafsky@vt.edu
Jenene Pease
Clinical Assistant Professor
840 University City Blvd., Suite 1 540-231-5924
jlc1190@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Karen Gallagher Director, Child Development Center for Learning and Research; Advanced Instructor
140A Wallace Hall 540-231-9815 karenrg@vt.edu
Alexa Gardner Curriculum Coordinator, Child Development Center for Learning and Research; Instructor 140D Wallace Hall 540-231-4791 alfraley@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ila Schepisi Director and Advanced Instructor 102 Wallace Hall 540-231-3160 schepisi@vt.edu
Carolyn Shivers Assistant Professor 358 Wallace Hall 540-231-5434 shivercm@vt.edu
Eric Stachelski Instructor
  540-352-8258
erics77@vt.edu