The Department of History held its annual Undergraduate Research Showcase and Spring Tea on April 12. The award-winning undergraduate History majors recognized at this event were: Courtney Ebersohl, who received the James W. and Martha N. Banks Award and was also the recipient of the Curtis Prize for her thesis titled “Hostility, Paternalism, and Resistance: Visions of Freedom in Post-Civil War Fairfax County (1865–1872),” with Daniel B. Thorp as mentor; the HIST 1004 First Year Experience class, which received the Digital History Prize for its project, “African-American Fourth of July,” led by Brett L. ShadleEmma Rhodes, recipient of the History Prize for “Channeling Children: How Television Changed the Way Cereal Companies Advertised to Young Americans in the 1950 and 1960s,” written for a research seminar taught by Mark Barrow; and Olivia Wisnewski, who received the Patricia Ann Gallagher Scholarship for 2019-2020.