Faculty

 Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

Janell Watson, Chair of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Catalina Andrango-Walker Assistant Professor of Spanish 301 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 candrang@vt.edu
Elisabeth L. Austin Associate Professor of Spanish 307 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 elaustin@vt.edu
Ahmad Azzam Adjunct Instructor of Arabic 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 ahmed62@vt.edu
Esther Bauer Associate Professor of German 330 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9846 bauere@vt.edu
Andrew Becker Associate Professor of Latin and Ancient Greek Languages, Literatures, and Cultures 337 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 abecker@vt.edu
Jacqueline E. Bixler Alumni Distinguished Professor of Spanish 331C Major Williams Hall 540-231-8632 jbixler@vt.edu
María del Carmen Caña Jiménez Associate Professor of Spanish 332 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 canajime@vt.edu
Joanna Jaime Castillo
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
108 Surge 
540-231-5362
jjaime@vt.edu 
Rebecca Chang Instructor 331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
rebecc2@vt.edu
Melissa Coburn Associate Professor of Italian 328 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 mcoburn8@vt.edu
Addison Dalton Instructor of Spanish 324 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 addalton@vt.edu
Alexander Dickow Assistant Professor of French 314 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ard@vt.edu
Robert Efird Associate Professor of Russian 305 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 refird@vt.edu
Jessica Folkart Professor of Spanish 323 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9076 jfolkart@vt.edu
Aarnes Gudmestad Associate Professor of Spanish 319 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 agudmest@vt.edu
Médoune Gueye Associate Professor of French 321 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8317 mgueye@vt.edu
Ester F. Hallerman Adjunct Instructor of Hebrew 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 esterh56@vt.edu
Maria Hatzios Adjunct Instructor of Modern Greek 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 mhatzios@vt.edu
Annie Hesp
Advanced Instructor of Spanish 329 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 ahesp@vt.edu
Stefanie Hofer Associate Professor of German 304 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 hofer@vt.edu
Javiera Jaque Visiting Assistant Professor 313 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 
javieraj@vt.edu
Sharon P. Johnson Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859 spjohnson@vt.edu
Bryan Klausmeyer Assistant Professor of German
310 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 klausmeyer@vt.edu
Yasuko Kumazawa Instructor of Japanese 
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 kumazawa@vt.edu
Jay Michael Layne Instructor of German 329 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 jmlayne@vt.edu
Nancy Patricia Lopez-Romero Advanced Instructor of Spanish 324 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5361 paloma@vt.edu
Gulzat Matekova
Adjunct Instructor of Russian
108 Surge
540-231-5362
gallamat@vt.edu
Teruyo Mercer
Adjunct Instructor of Japanese
108 Surge
540-231-5362
teruyo95@vt.edu
Tatiana P. McKagen Instructor of Russian 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 tamckage@vt.edu
Nyusya Milman-Miller Associate Professor of Russian 302 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 nmilman@vt.edu
Yuliya Minkova Assistant Professor of Russian 309 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 yuliyam1@vt.edu
Sulagna Mishra Instructor of French 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 sulagm1@vt.edu
Gonzalo Montero
Assistant Professor of Spanish
313 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362
montero@vt.edu
Xiaojin Zhang Moore Adjunct Instructor of Chinese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 xjzhang@vt.edu
Ragheda Nassereddine Instructor of Arabic 310 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ragheda5@vt.edu
Corinne Noirot Associate Professor of French 333 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8563 cnoirot@vt.edu
Julio Opazo
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
108 Surge
540-231-5362
ojulio50@vt.edu
Richard L. Phillips Assistant Professor of Classics 303 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 rphllps@vt.edu
Patrick Ridge
Assistant Professor of Spanish
311 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5622
ptridge@vt.edu
Kirsten Rutsala Instructor of Russian 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 krutsala@vt.edu
Michael Sguerri Instructor of Italian 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 sguerri@vt.edu
Richard L. Shryock Associate Professor of French 331 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4605 shryockr@vt.edu
Sarah Sierra Associate Professor of Spanish 315 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ssierra2@vt.edu
Yevgeniy Slivkin
Adjunct Instructor of Russian
108 Surge
540-231-5362
yevgeniys@vt.edu
Nadine Adel Sinno Associate Professor of Arabic 306 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362  nadine7@vt.edu
Alejandra Beatriz Sobrado Assistant Professor of the Practice of Spanish
316 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 asobrado@vt.edu
Christine Steer Instructor of Latin 301 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 cygnet@vt.edu
Debra L. Stoudt Associate Dean and Professor of German 260C Wallace Hall 540-231-6426 dstoudt@vt.edu
William Taggart
Adjunct Instructor of Arabic
305 Major Williams
540-231-5362
wtaggart@vt.edu
Ming Chew Teo Visiting Assistant Professor 331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
mcteo@vt.edu
Fabrice G. Teulon Associate Professor of French 325 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 fteulon@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh Associate Professor of Spanish 339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 vinodhv@vt.edu
Janell Watson Department Chair and Professor of French
341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009 rjwatson@vt.edu
Yumiko Younos Instructor of Japanese 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 yyounos@vt.edu
Tingting Zhao Assistant Professor of Chinese: Mandarin 331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 tzhao@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ahmad Azzam
Adjunct Instructor of Arabic 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 ahmed62@vt.edu
Ragheda Nassereddine
Instructor of Arabic 310 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ragheda5@vt.edu
William Taggart
Adjunct Instructor of Arabic
305 Major Williams
540-231-5362
wtaggart@vt.edu
Nadine Adel Sinno
Associate Professor of Arabic 306 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 nadine7@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Xiaojin Zhang Moore
Adjunct Instructor of Chinese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 xjzhang@vt.edu
Tingting Zhao Assistant Professor of Chinese: Mandarin 331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 tzhao@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Andrew Becker
Associate Professor of Latin and Ancient Greek Languages, Literatures, and Cultures 337 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 andrew.becker@vt.edu
Maria Hatzios
Adjunct Instructor of Modern Greek 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 mhatzios@vt.edu
Richard L. Phillips
Assistant Professor of Classics 303 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 rphllps@vt.edu
Christine Steer
Instructor of Latin 301 Major Williams Hall
540-553-5362 cygnet@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Alexander Dickow
Assistant Professor of French 314 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ard@vt.edu
Médoune Guèye
Associate Professor of French 321 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8317 mgueye@vt.edu
Sharon P. Johnson
Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859 spjohnso@vt.edu
Sulagna Mishra
Instructor of French 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 sulagm1@vt.edu
Corinne Noirot
Associate Professor of French 333 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8563 cnoirot@vt.edu
Richard L. Shryock
Associate Professor of French 331 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4605 shryockr@vt.edu
Fabrice G. Teulon
Associate Professor of French 325 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 fteulon@vt.edu
Janell Watson
Department Chair and Professor of French 341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009 rjwatson@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Esther Bauer
Associate Professor of German 330 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9846 bauere@vt.edu
Stefanie Hofer
Associate Professor of German 304 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 hofer@vt.edu
Bryan Klausmeyer Assistant Professor of German
331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 klausmeyer@vt.edu
Jay Michael Layne
Instructor of German 329 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 jmlayne@vt.edu
Debra L. Stoudt
Associate Dean and Professor of German 260C Wallace Hall 540-231-6426 dstoudt@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ester F. Hallerman
Adjunct Instructor of Hebrew 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 esterh56@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Melissa Coburn
Associate Professor of Italian 328 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5632 mcoburn8@vt.edu
Michael Sguerri
Instructor of Italian 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 sguerri@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Yasuko Kumazawa Instructor of Japanese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 kumazawa@vt.edu
Teruyo Mercer
Adjunct Instructor of Japanese
108 Surge  Space Building
540-231-5362
teruyo95@vt.edu
Yumiko Younos
Instructor of Japanese  108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 yyounos@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Robert Efird
Associate Professor of Russian 305 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 refird@vt.edu
Gulzat Matekova
Adjunct Instructor of Russian
108 Surge
540-231-5362
gallamat@vt.edu
Tatiana P. McKagen
Instructor of Russian 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 tamckage@vt.edu
Nyusya Milman-Miller
Associate Professor of Russian 302 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 nmilman@vt.edu
Yuliya Minkova
Assistant Professor of Russian 309 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 yuliyam1@vt.edu
Kirsten Rutsala
Instructor of Russian 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 krutsala@vt.edu
Yevgeniy Slivkin
Adjunct Instructor of Russian
108 Surge
540-231-5362
yevgeniys@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Catalina Andrango-Walker Assistant Professor of Spanish 301 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 candrang@vt.edu
Elisabeth L. Austin
Associate Professor of Spanish 307 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 elaustin@vt.edu
Jacqueline E. Bixer
Alumni Distinguished Professor of Spanish
331C Major Williams Hall 540-231-8632 jbixler@vt.edu
Joanna Jaime Castillo
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
108 Surge 
540-231-5362
jjaime@vt.edu
Maria del Carmen Caña Jiménez
Associate Professor of Spanish 332 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 canajime@vt.edu
Addison Dalton
Spanish Instructor 324 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 addalton@vt.edu
Jessica Folkart
Professor of Spanish 323 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9076 jfolkart@vt.edu
Aarnes Gudmestad
Associate Professor of Spanish
319 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 agudmest@vt.edu
Annie Hesp
Advanced
Instructor of Spanish
329 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ahesp@vt.edu
Nancy P. Lopez-Romero
Advanced Instructor of Spanish 324 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5361 paloma@vt.edu
Julio Opazo
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
108 Surge
540-231-5362
ojulio50@vt.edu
Sarah Sierra
Associate Professor of Spanish
315 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ssierra2@vt.edu
Alejandra B. Sobrado
Spanish Instructor 316 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 asobrado@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh
Associate Professor of Spanish 339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 vinodhv@vt.edu