The 2018 College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Awards and Honors Ceremony and Reception took place on March 15 in Owens Banquet Hall. Presenting this year’s awards were Dean Rosemary Blieszner, associate dean for Graduate Studies and Research Tom Ewing, and Joseph PittDepartment of Philosophy and chair of the college’s Honors and Awards Committee.

The Diversity Award winners were Brandy FaulknerPolitical Science, and Vinodh VenkateshModern and Classical Languages and LiteraturesJacqueline Bixler, Chair, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures, garnered the Excellence in Administration Award.

Certificate of Teaching Excellence recipients were: Jay Burkette, Naval ROTC; Carmen GitreHistoryCayce MyersCommunicationJoseph ScallornsEnglishNadine Sinno, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures; and Oscar SolisApparel, Housing, and Resource Management.

Excellence in Advising Awards were presented to: Courtney Thomas, Political Science, and Matthew WisnioskiScience, Technology, and Society.

Excellence in Research and Creative Scholarship Award recipients were: Christine KaestleHuman Development and Family ScienceAnthony PegueroSociology; and Ariana WyattSchool of Performing Arts.

This year’s ceremony included a staff award in addition to faculty awards. Rhonda Pennington, Office and Fiscal Manager, Modern and Classical Languages and Literatures, received the Staff Employee of the Year Award.