Multimedia Journalism students are eligible to apply for a new merit-based scholarship, the Kathryn Thompson Leckie Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship was established by Communication alumna Carolyn Smith Corsi (1983), who was Leckie’s roommate.

Leckie’s career as an investigative journalist included stints with the Richmond Times-Dispatch, the Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and the Frederick (Maryland) News-Post; she died in 2012.

In May 2018, Gretchen Kernbach, a senior Multimedia Journalism major, became the first recipient of the scholarship.