People

 Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention Faculty

James Hawdon,  Director Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention
205 Norris Hall (0911)
495 Old Turner Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-2345
hawdonj@vt.edu

Amy Splitt, Office Manager and Grant Coordinator for Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention

205 Norris Hall (0911)
495 Old Turner Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-2345
cpsvp@vt.edu

 

Virginia Tech Faculty

Department

 

Position

Office

Phone

E-mail

Shannon Bell

Sociology

Associate Professor

510 McBryde Hall

540-231-4445

sbell33@vt.edu

Kaitlin Boyle

Sociology

Assistant Professor

674 McBryde Hall

540-231-6074

kmboyle@vt.edu

Aaron Brantly

Political Science

Assistant Professor

526 Major Williams Hall

540-231-7614

abrantly@vt.edu

Brian Britt

Religion and Culture

Professor

243 Lane Hall

540-231-5118

bbritt@vt.edu

Nicholas Copeland

Sociology / American Indian Studies

Assistant Professor

524 McBryde Hall

540-231-2768

ncopel@vt.edu

Amanda Demmer

History

Assistant Professor

404 Major Williams Hall

540-231-5331

demmer@vt.edu

James Dubinsky

English / Center for the Study of Rhetoric in Society

Associate Professor

413 Shanks Hall

540-231-1939

dubinsky@vt.edu

Mike Ellerbrock

Agricultural and Applied Economics

Professor and Undergraduate Program Director

218 Hutcheson Hall

540-231-7722

mebrock@vt.edu

Edward Fox

Computer Science

Professor

2160G Torgersen Hall

540-231-5113

fox@vt.edu

Matthew Gabriele

Religion and Culture

Professor and Department Chair

111 Lane Hall

540-231-1618

gabriele@vt.edu

Peter Hauck

Computer Science

Senior Research Scientist

2202 Kraft Drive

Knowledgeworks II Suite 1102

540-231-4061

phauck@vt.edu

Paul Heilker

English

Associate Professor

351 Shanks Hall

540-231-8444

paul.heilker@vt.edu

James Ivory

Communications

Associate Professor

111 Shanks Hall

540-231-6507

jivory@vt.edu

Maria del Carmen Caña Jiménez

Spanish

Associate Professor

332 Major Williams Hall

540-231-5362

canajime@vt.edu

Eric Jardine

Political Science

Assistant Professor

 

 

ejardine@vt.edu

Sharon Johnson

French and Francophone Studies/ Women’s and Gender Studies

Associate Professor

317 Major Williams Hall

540-231-9859

spjohnson@vt.edu

Chiaki Konishi

School of Education

Visiting Instructor

 

 

chiaki.konishi@mcgill.ca

Scotland Leman

Statistics

Associate Professor

416A Hutcheson Hall

540-231-5441

leman@vt.edu

Yasuo Miyazaki

School of Education

Associate Professor

1750 Kraft Dr., Room 2109

540-231-9731

yasuom@vt.edu

Marian Mollin

History

Associate Professor

419 Major Williams Hall

540-231-8367

mmollin@vt.edu

Tanushree Mitra

Computer Science

 

 

 

 

Thomas Ollendick

Psychology

Professor and Child Study Center Director

Child Study Center 460 Turner Street, Suite 207

540-231-6451

tho@vt.edu

Robin Panneton

Psychology

Associate Professor, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs, College of Science

133 Williams Hall

(540) 231-5938

cooperr@vt.edu

Anthony Peguero

Sociology

Associate Professor

506 McBryde Hall

540-231-2549

anthony.peguero@vt.edu

Katrina Powell

English / Women’s and Gender Studies

Professor

340C Shanks Hall

540-231-7759

kmpowell@vt.edu

Paul Quigley

 

History / Virginia Center for Civil War Studies

 

Associate Professor

405 Major Williams Hall

540-231-9090

pquigley@vt.edu

Shyam Ranganathan

Statistics

Assistant Professor

415B Hutcheson Hall

540-231-5657

shyam81@vt.edu

Audrey Reeves

Political Science

Assistant Professor

512 Major Williams Hall

540-231-9744

audreyreeves@vt.edu

Ashley Reichelmann

Sociology

Assistant Professor

676 McBryde Hall

           

540-231-5651

avr@vt.edu

John Ryan

Sociology

Professor and Department Chair

560 McBryde Hall

540-231-9396

johnryan@vt.edu

Brett Shadle

History / ASPECT

Professor

428 Major Williams Hall

540-231-8362

shadle@vt.edu

Max Stephenson, Jr.

Urban Affairs and Planning

Professor and Inst for Policy and Governance Director

201 W. Roanoke Street

540-231-6775

mstephen@vt.edu

Deborah Tatar

Computer Science

Associate Professor

2202 Kraft Drive Office 1123

540-231-8457

tatar@vt.edu

Sophie Wenzel

Center for Public Health Practice and Research

Professional Lecturer

205 Duck Pond Drive, Room 341

540-231-8173

swenzel@vt.edu

Laura Zanotti

Political Science

Associate Professor

509 Major Williams Hall

540-231-2750

lzanotti@vt.edu

University of Turku, Finland
Contacts: Pekka Räsenen, Professor of Economic Sociology: pekras@utu.fi, and Atte Oksanen, Docent of Sociology: atjook@utu.fi

Atte Oksanen has studied the wellbeing of young people in changing cultural and societal situations. His doctoral dissertation in social psychology (2006, University of Tampere, Finland) explored violent and vulnerable identities in contemporary culture. Oksanen’s research interests and projects have centered on the fields of social psychology, sociology and cultural studies. He has published in a variety of areas including youth studies, drugs and alcohol use, mass shootings, and cultural studies. Oksanen is is currently working as senior researcher at the National Research Institute of Legal Policy. He has received docentships at the Universities of Tampere (2008), Turku (2011) and Helsinki (2011). He recently led the Emil Aaltonen funded research project Everyday Life and Insecurity, together with Professor Pekka Räsänen. Currently Oksanen and Räsänen are leading a Kone Foundation Project Hate Communities: An International Comparison.

Pekka Räsänen is a professor of economic sociology in the Department of Social Research at the University of Turku, Finland. He has studied consumer behavior, mass violence and media, and attitudes towards various welfare issues for more than ten years. Räsänen has experience in comparative research methods and in analyzing large-scale quantitative data. He has published widely in international scholarly journals. He recently completed a project analyzing the social responses to mass violence in two Finnish towns that experienced school shootings.  His current research focuses on how new information technology influences modern life, including how online hate groups operate and influence youth.  He has also conducted extensive research on ICT use, new media, and ageing.

 

Voice for Community Organization (VCO/Rwanda)
Contact: Innocent Masore: vcorwanda@gmail.commusorebita@gmail.com
Head Office: Remera/ Gisimenti, Rwanda -- Tel: 0788436774, 0728436774

VCO /Rwanda is a Non-Governmental Organization legally registered to operate in Rwanda since 2008. VCO operates in different districts countrywide and seeks to make positive behavioral and attitudinal changes. Their mission is to end and prevent gender-based oppression and promote peacebuilding through advocacy and transformational development programs. Tolerance and acceptance are taught through community dialogue. Men and women participate equally in these processes; however, VCO especially seeks to engage men and boys to promote positive change in their communities, opposing gender-based violence, as well as teaching HIV prevention, nutrition, and Community Health. VCO also advocates for the rights of two of the most vulnerable populations: children and sex workers. Project activities include educational workshops with men and women, young boys and girls, and local authorities and stakeholders to address some of the biggest societal factors driving gender inequalities and community conflicts through active and non-discriminatory engagement.

 

The Springhouse Community School  -- http://springhousecommunityschool.org/
Contact: Jenny Finn: jenny@springhousecommunityschool.org  (540) 745-4673
188A EcoVillage Trail NE,  Floyd, VA  240starting point to learn concepts in language arts, mathematics, social studies, science, and other subjects. With an emphasis on hands-on, real-world learning experiences, this approach increases achievement, helps students develop stronger ties to their community, enhances students' appreciation for the natural world, and creates a heightened commitment to serving as active citizens."