James Hawdon — professor of sociology, interim chair of the Department of Sociology, and director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention — has earned membership in Virginia Tech’s Academy of Faculty Service.

He joined one other faculty member — Mike Ellerbrock, professor and undergraduate program director for agricultural and applied economics in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences — in being so recognized this academic year. Two other faculty members — Holly Matusovich, assistant department head for undergraduate programs for engineering education in the College of Engineering, and Brenda Winkel, professor of biological sciences in the College of Science — were inducted into the Academy of Faculty Leadership.

Through the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, the academies honor the exemplary contributions of faculty members of all classifications in formal service roles or in areas of leadership.

 “The commitment of our faculty community to leadership and service is critical to the success of Virginia Tech’s Beyond Boundaries vision and achieving our strategic goals,” said Cyril Clarke, executive vice president and provost. “These new members of the Academy of Faculty Leadership and Academy of Faculty Service exemplify this commitment. I congratulate each of them on this accomplishment and thank them for the high standards they continue to set for our faculty and students.”

Hawdon was nominated as a result of his expansive service record and impacts across the community, university, and field of sociology. His contributions include service on Faculty Senate, where he currently serves as president-elect, and leads several initiatives as a member of the Faculty Senate Cabinet. Hawdon joined the Commission on Faculty Affairs and was invited in the fall of 2019 to be a member of the ad hoc President’s Committee on Governance as a representative from Faculty Senate.

In addition, Hawdon’s leadership role and work with peace studies and with the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention was recognized for changing the culture of the community by promoting dialogue on peace, violence, and human rights issues.

Academy of Faculty Service nominees must have successfully completed an elected or appointed term of office in university governance, completed the assignment or set of responsibilities associated with a university-level project, or made commendable service contributions at the university level outside of usual responsibilities and ongoing formal governance roles. They must also have made a notable and demonstrable positive impact on the university as evidenced by the academy nomination statement and letters of support.

Written by Dave Guerin