The Department of History held its annual Undergraduate Research Showcase and Spring Tea on April 13.

The award-winning undergraduate history majors were: Nala Chehade, who received the Digital History Prize for “Graffiti of the Egyptian Revolution in Cairo,” with Carmen Gitre as mentor; Courtney Ebersohl, who was awarded the Patricia A. Gallagher Scholarship for 2018–2019; Andrew Kapinos, recipient of the History Prize for his paper “A Missed Opportunity: American Diplomats and the Prague Spring,” with Marian Mollin as mentor; Daniel Lyons, who was recognized with the Hayward “Woody” Farrar, Jr., Award; Emily Stewart, recipient of the Curtis Prize for her paper “Sunday Morning Politics: Religion During the Crisis of Secession,” with Paul Quigley as mentor; Delanie Tarvin, who received the James W. and Martha N. Banks Award; and Carla Vasquez, who also received the History Prize for her paper “Sisterhood Divided,” with Marian Mollin as mentor.

Graduate awards were presented to the following: Eleanor Boggs and Katelyn Brown, Exemplary Graduate Assistant Award; Kevin Caprice, Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award for “Won, but Not One: The Construction of Union Veteranhood, 1861–1917”; and Grace Hemmingson, Award for Excellence in Public History.