Virginia Tech®home

Faculty

Department of Science, Technology, and Society Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Science, Technology, and Society faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
  • General Item
    Janet Abbate

    7054 Haycock Road, Falls Church, VA 22073, 703-538-3768 | abbate@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Barbara L. Allen

    7054 Haycock Road, Falls Church, VA 22043, 540-231-3780 | ballen@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Daniel Breslau

    131 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-8472 | dbreslau@vt.edu

  • General Item
    James Collier

    Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, jcollie@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Gary Downey

    332 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-4761 | downeyg@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Saul Halfon

    232 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-1648 | shalfon@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Rebecca J. Hester

    235 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-8359 | rjhester@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Philip R. Olson

    333 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-1119 | prolson@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Sonja D. Schmid

    7054 Haycock Road, Falls Church, VA 22043, Blacksburg, VA 24061, (703) 538-8482 | sschmid@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Ashley Shew

    116 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, shew@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Lee Vinsel

    233 Lane Hall, 280 Alumni Mall , Blacksburg, VA 24061, leev@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Matthew Wisnioski

    331 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-2887 | mwisnios@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Matthew R. Goodrum

    133 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-9006 | mgoodrum@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Fabian Prieto-Nañez

    234 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, fprieto@vt.edu

Name Position Office Phone Email
Mark Barrow Professor, History 431 Major Williams Hall             
540-231-4099          
barrow@vt.edu 
Monique Dufour Collegiate Assistant Professor, History
403 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8307         msdufour@vt.edu
Richard Hirsh Professor, History
423 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5601
richards@vt.edu
Christine Labuski Associate Professor, Sociology
518 McBryde Hall 540-231-2765 chrislab@vt.edu
Timothy Luke University Distinguished Professor, Political Science
539 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6633 twluke@vt.edu
Joseph Pitt Professor, Philosophy
237 Major Williams 
540-231-5760
jcpitt@vt.edu
David Tomblin Adjunct Professor, Science and Technology in Society 
Northern Virginia Center
  dtomblin@umd.edu
  • General Item
    Matthew R. Goodrum

    133 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-9006 | mgoodrum@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Matthew Wisnioski

    331 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-2887 | mwisnios@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Lee Vinsel

    233 Lane Hall, 280 Alumni Mall , Blacksburg, VA 24061, leev@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Philip R. Olson

    333 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-1119 | prolson@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Rebecca J. Hester

    235 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-8359 | rjhester@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Saul Halfon

    232 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-1648 | shalfon@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Gary Downey

    332 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-4761 | downeyg@vt.edu

  • General Item
    James Collier

    Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, jcollie@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Daniel Breslau

    131 Lane Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 540-231-8472 | dbreslau@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Sonja D. Schmid

    7054 Haycock Road, Falls Church, VA 22043, Blacksburg, VA 24061, (703) 538-8482 | sschmid@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Barbara L. Allen

    7054 Haycock Road, Falls Church, VA 22043, 540-231-3780 | ballen@vt.edu

  • General Item
    Janet Abbate

    7054 Haycock Road, Falls Church, VA 22073, 703-538-3768 | abbate@vt.edu

Name Position Office Phone Email

Sylvester Johnson 

Professor and Director of the Center for the Humanities

315 Lane Hall 

540-231-9120 

saj240@vt.edu

Melanie Kiechle Associate Professor, History
417 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7523
mkiechle@vt.edu
Yanna Lambrinidou        
Lisa McNair Professor, Engineering Education 371 Goodwin Hall 540-231-1144 lmcnair@vt.edu
Patrick Roberts Associate Professor   202-599-0562 robertsp@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor, Philosophy
231 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8489 critique@vt.edu
Kelly Pender Associate Professor 306 Shanks Hall
540-231-9077
pender@vt.edu
Barbara Reeves Adjunct Professor
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5670
reeves@vt.edu
Thomas Staley Associate Professor
445 Old Turner Street 540-231-7522
tstaley@vt.edu
Robert P. Stephens Associate Professor 439 Major Williams Hall 
540-231-8371
rosteph2@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ann La Berge
Associate Professor Emerita
     alaberge@vt.edu
Richard Burian Professor Emeritus     rmburian@vt.edu
Ellsworth Fuhrman Professor     fuhrman@vt.edu
Doris Zallen Professor     dtzallen@vt.edu