Virginia Tech™home


Department of Religion and Culture Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Religion and Culture faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

Name Position Office Phone Email
Ananda Abeysekara Associate Professor 209 Major Williams 540-231-5788
Aaron Ansell Associate Professor 101 Major Williams 540-231-0491
Amaryah Armstrong Assistant Professor 111 Major Williams 540-231-7013
Brian Britt Professor 107 Major Williams 540-231-5118
Danille Christensen Assistant Professor 105 Major Williams 540-231-5528
Candace Buckner Assistant Professor 204 Major Williams 540-231-6080
Taulby Edmondson Adjunct 117 Major Williams
Matthew Gabriele Professor and Department Chair 115A Major Williams 540-231-1618
Sylvester Johnson  Professor and Director of the Center for the Humanities 010A Liberal Art and Human Sciences Building 540-231-9120
Jordan Laney Adjunct   .
Zhange Ni Associate Professor 205 Major Williams 540-231-1823
Shaily Patel  Assistant Professor 207 Major Williams  540-232-8456
Mohammed Pervaiz Adjunct 117 Major Williams
Dominique Polanco Research Associate 109 Major Williams 540-231-6101
Anita Puckett Associate Professor 207 Solitude 540-231-9526
Emily Satterwhite Associate Professor and Director of Appalachian Studies 344 Lane Hall 540-231-8779
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor 103 Major Williams 540-231-8377
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams 540-231-4848
Balbir K. Singh Assistant Professor 211 Major Williams 540-231-6810
Joe Wolf Adjunct 441 Major Williams 540-231-5155
Name Position Office Phone Email

Allie Briggs


118C Surge

Sarah Plummer


118C Surge

Hannah Ewing MCPH GTA 206 Major Williams
Anthony Reynolds MCPH GTA 206 Major Williams
Aline De Souza ASPECT GTA 118C Surge
Caitlin Crenshaw MCPH GTA 106 Major Williams
Muhammed Shah Shajahan ASPECT GTA 118C Surge
Name Position Office Phone Email

Elizabeth Fine

Professor Emerita, Humanities

Elizabeth Struthers Malbon

Professor Emerita

Name Position Office Phone Email

Ashley Reed

Assistant Professor of English 

Mauro J. Caraccioli Assistant Professor of Political Science