Faculty

Department of Religion and Culture Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Religion and Culture faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ananda Abeysekara Associate Professor 209 Major Williams 540-231-5788 ananda@vt.edu
Aaron Ansell Associate Professor 242 Lane Hall 540-231-0491 aansell@vt.edu
Amaryah Armstrong Assistant Professor 111 Major Williams   amaryah@vt.edu
Brian Britt Professor 243 Lane Hall 540-231-5118 bbritt@vt.edu
Megan Case Postdoctoral Fellow 342 Lane Hall 540-231-6885 mlcase@vt.edu
Danille Christensen Assistant Professor 216 Lane Hall 540-231-5528 dec09@vt.edu
Hulya Dogan Instructor     hulyad@vt.edu
Taulby Edmondson Instructor 441 Major Williams   taulby1@vt.edu
Matthew Gabriele Professor and Department Chair 111 Lane Hall 540-231-1618 gabriele@vt.edu
John Hennen Instructor     johnch51@vt.edu
Sylvester Johnson  Professor and Director of the Center for the Humanities 010A Liberal Art and Human Sciences Building 540-231-9120  saj240@vt.edu
Jordan Laney Postdoctoral Fellow 224 Lane Hall . jlaney@vt.edu
Zhange Ni Associate Professor 205 Major Williams 540-231-1823 nizhange@vt.edu
Shaily Patel  Assistant Professor 207 Major Williams  540-232-8456 shailyp@vt.edu
Dominique Polanco Research Associate 109 Major Williams 540-231-6101 depolanco@vt.edu
Anita Puckett Associate Professor 207 Solitude 540-231-9526 apuckett@vt.edu
Michael Saffle Professor 204 Major Williams 540-231-6080 msaffle@vt.edu
Emily Satterwhite Associate Professor and Director of Appalachian Studies 344 Lane Hall 540-231-8779 satterwhite@vt.edu
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor 321 Lane Hall 540-231-8377 pschmitt@vt.edu
Marcy Schnitzer Instructor 336 Burruss Hall 540-231-3811 rmh@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams 540-231-4848 rmscott@vt.edu
Balbir K. Singh Assistant Professor 211 Major Williams 540-231-6810 bksingh@vt.edu
Joe Wolf Instructor     joewolf@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email

Allie Briggs

ASPECT GTA

314 Lane Hall

 

briggsa@vt.edu

Zach Wheeler

ASPECT GTA

313 Lane Hall

 

zachariah@vt.edu

Sarah Plummer

ASPECT GTA

313 Lane Hall

 

splummer@vt.edu

Hannah Ewing MCPH GTA 206 Major Williams   htewing@vt.edu
Anthony Reynolds MCPH GTA 206 Major Williams   iranthony@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email

Elizabeth Fine

Professor Emerita, Humanities
   

bfine@vt.edu

Elizabeth Struthers Malbon

Professor Emerita

   

malbon@vt.edu

Name Position Office Phone Email

Ashley Reed

Assistant Professor of English    

akreed@vt.edu 

Mauro J. Caraccioli Assistant Professor of Political Science     mauroj@vt.edu