Virginia Tech™home

Faculty

Department of Religion and Culture Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Religion and Culture faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ananda Abeysekara Associate Professor 209 Major Williams 540-231-5788 ananda@vt.edu
Aaron Ansell Associate Professor 101 Major Williams 540-231-0491 aansell@vt.edu
Amaryah Armstrong Assistant Professor 111 Major Williams 540-231-7013 amaryah@vt.edu
Brian Britt Professor 107 Major Williams 540-231-5118 bbritt@vt.edu
Danille Christensen Assistant Professor 105 Major Williams 540-231-5528 dec09@vt.edu
Candace Buckner Assistant Professor 204 Major Williams 540-231-6080 cbuckner@vt.edu
Taulby Edmondson Adjunct 117 Major Williams   taulby1@vt.edu
Matthew Gabriele Professor and Department Chair 115A Major Williams 540-231-1618 gabriele@vt.edu
Sylvester Johnson  Professor and Director of the Center for the Humanities 010A Liberal Art and Human Sciences Building 540-231-9120  saj240@vt.edu
Jordan Laney Adjunct   . jlaney@vt.edu
Zhange Ni Associate Professor 205 Major Williams 540-231-1823 nizhange@vt.edu
Shaily Patel  Assistant Professor 207 Major Williams  540-232-8456 shailyp@vt.edu
Mohammed Pervaiz Adjunct 117 Major Williams   mpervaiz@vt.edu
Dominique Polanco Research Associate 109 Major Williams 540-231-6101 depolanco@vt.edu
Anita Puckett Associate Professor 207 Solitude 540-231-9526 apuckett@vt.edu
Emily Satterwhite Associate Professor and Director of Appalachian Studies 344 Lane Hall 540-231-8779 satterwhite@vt.edu
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor 103 Major Williams 540-231-8377 pschmitt@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams 540-231-4848 rmscott@vt.edu
Balbir K. Singh Assistant Professor 211 Major Williams 540-231-6810 bksingh@vt.edu
Joe Wolf Adjunct 441 Major Williams 540-231-5155 joewolf@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email

Allie Briggs

ASPECT GTA

118C Surge  

briggsa@vt.edu

Sarah Plummer

ASPECT GTA

118C Surge  

splummer@vt.edu

Hannah Ewing MCPH GTA 206 Major Williams   htewing@vt.edu
Anthony Reynolds MCPH GTA 206 Major Williams   iranthony@vt.edu
Aline De Souza ASPECT GTA 118C Surge   aliners@vt.edu
Caitlin Crenshaw MCPH GTA 106 Major Williams   mccaitlin@vt.edu
Muhammed Shah Shajahan ASPECT GTA 118C Surge   muhammedshahs@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email

Elizabeth Fine

Professor Emerita, Humanities
   

bfine@vt.edu

Elizabeth Struthers Malbon

Professor Emerita

   

malbon@vt.edu

Name Position Office Phone Email

Ashley Reed

Assistant Professor of English    

akreed@vt.edu 

Mauro J. Caraccioli Assistant Professor of Political Science     mauroj@vt.edu