Department of Religion and Culture Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Religion and Culture faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Ananda Abeysekara

Associate Professor

209 Major Williams

540-231-5788

ananda@vt.edu

Aaron Ansell

Associate Professor

242 Lane Hall

540-231-0491

aansell@vt.edu

Brian Britt

Professor

243 Lane Hall

540-231-5118

bbritt@vt.edu

Megan Case
Postdoctoral Fellow
342 Lane Hall
540-231-6885 mlcase@vt.edu

Danille Christensen

Assistant Professor

216 Lane Hall

540-231-5528

dec09@vt.edu

Komal Dhillon

Instructor

108 Surge Hall #22

 

kdhillon@vt.edu

Taulby Edmondson
Instructor
441 Major Williams   taulby1@vt.edu

Matthew Gabriele

Professor and Department Chair of Religion and Culture

111 Lane Hall

540-231-1618

gabriele@vt.edu

John Hennen

Instructor

   

johnch51@vt.edu

Sylvester Johnson 

Professor and Director of the Center for the Humanities

315 Lane Hall 

540-231-9120 

saj240@vt.edu

Jordan Laney

Postdoctoral Fellow

224 Lane Hall

 

jlaney@vt.edu

Zhange Ni

Associate Professor

205 Major Williams

540-231-1823

nizhange@vt.edu

Shaily Patel 

Assistant Professor

207 Major Williams 

540-232-8456

shailyp@vt.edu

Anita Puckett

Associate Professor

207 Solitude

540-231-9526

apuckett@vt.edu

Emily Satterwhite

Associate Professor

344 Lane Hall

540-231-8779

satterwhite@vt.edu

Michael Saffle

Professor

204 Major Williams

540-231-6080

msaffle@vt.edu

Peter L. Schmitthenner

Associate Professor

321 Lane Hall

540-231-8377

pschmitt@vt.edu

Rachel M. Scott

Associate Professor

203 Major Williams

540-231-4848

rmscott@vt.edu

Balbir K. Singh
Assistant Professor
211 Major Williams
540-231-6810 bksingh@vt.edu
Andrew Sorber
Instructor
324 Lane Hall   asorber@vt.edu

Christine Steer

Instructor

301 Major Williams

 

cygnet@vt.edu

Name Position Office Phone Email

Allie Briggs

ASPECT GTA

314 Lane Hall

 

briggsa@vt.edu

Mohammed Pervaiz

ASPECT GTA

211 Lane Hall

 

mpervaiz@vt.edu

Sarah Plummer

ASPECT GTA

313 Lane Hall

 

splummer@vt.edu

Name Position Office Phone Email

Elizabeth Fine

Professor Emerita, Humanities
   

bfine@vt.edu

Elizabeth Struthers Malbon

Professor Emerita

   

malbon@vt.edu