The 2017 College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences Faculty Awards Reception and Ceremony took place in Owens Banquet Hall on March 14. Presenting this year’s awards were Interim Dean Rosemary Blieszner, Associate Dean for Graduate Study and Research Tom Ewing, and Joseph PittPhilosophy and Chair of the College’s Honors and Awards Committee.

The Diversity Award winner was David ClineHistoryYannis StivachtisPolitical Science, garnered the Excellence in Administration Award. Certificate of Teaching Excellence Award winners were: Jennifer BartonEnglishMaría del Carmen Caña JiménezForeign Languages and Literatures/Spanish; Christine LabuskiSociologyRichard Phillips, Foreign Languages and Literatures/Classics; Helen Schneider, History; and Ashley ShewScience and Technology in Society.

The winner of the Shannon Award was Paul Heilker, English. Gerard LawsonSchool of Education, was recognized with the Land Grant Scholar Award.

Recipients of an Excellence in Advising Award were April Few-DemoHuman Development, and Richard Hirsh, History.

Excellence in Outreach and International Initiatives Awards were presented to: Nicholas Copeland, Sociology, and Phillip Olson, Science and Technology in Society.

Excellence in Research and Creative Scholarship Awards were presented to: Brian BrittReligion and Culture; Billie LepczykSchool of Performing ArtsErika Meitner, English; and Carol MullenSchool of Education.