Virginia Tech®home

Faculty

Department of Philosophy Faculty

 Name   Position   Office   Phone   Email 
Gil Hersch Assistant Professor
820 University City Blvd   hersch@vt.edu
Daniel Hoek Assistant Professor
217 Major Williams Hall   dhoek@vt.edu
Justin Horn Collegiate Assistant Professor
233 Major Williams Hall   justinhorn@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Associate Professor
226 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1766
bjantzen@vt.edu
James Klagge Professor 241 Major Williams Hall
  jklagge@vt.edu
Karen Kovaka Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams
  kkovaka@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor 221 Major Williams Hall 540-231-0639
douglas.lind@vt.edu
Jordan MacKenzie  Assistant Professor and Director of Graduate Studies 239 Major Williams Hall
  jmackenzie@vt.edu
Gregory M. Novack Collegiate Assistant Professor

227 Major Williams Hall   gmnovack@vt.edu
Wendy Parker Professor 237 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4564
wendyparker@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor

219 Major Williams Hall

  critique@vt.edu
Joseph Pitt Professor 223 Major Williams Hall

540-231-5760

jcpitt@vt.edu
Hannah Wildman Short Instructor 231 Major Williams Hall

540-231-7879
whann79@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Associate Professor and Department Chair 229B Major Williams Hall

  trogdon@vt.edu
Philip Yaure Assistant Professor 
224 Major Williams Hall   philipyaure@vt.edu
Name Position Office
Phone Email
Richard M. Burian Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and STS
229 Major Williams Hall
  rmburian@vt.edu
Deborah Mayo Professor Emerita  of Philosophy
235 Major Williams Hall
  mayod@vt.edu
Harlan Miller Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
  hmiller@vt.edu
Name Position Office Email
Ashley Shew Assistant Professor Faculty Affiliate (STS)
116 Lane Hall
shew@vt.edu
Name Office
Email 
Claudio D'amato
214 Major Williams Hall claudio1@vt.edu
Jordan Fallon 
Surge 118C
fjordan3@vt.edu
Eric Lewis
231 Major Williams Hall
lewis@vt.edu
Grace McGee
229 Major Williams Hall
mcgeeg10@vt.edu
Shaun Respess 
Surge 118C
srespess@vt.edu
Katy Shepard
214 Major Williams Hall
kshepard@vt.edu
 
Jack Good (1916-2009)                  University Distinguished Professor
Marjorie Grene (1910-2009)        Honorary University Distinguished Professor 
Lauren Fleming (1980-2011)         Visiting Assistant Professor
Dieter Seltzer (1992-2012)            Philosophy Undergraduate Major 
J. J. Stinson (1992-2012)                Philosophy Undergraduate Major
James M. Buchanan (1919-2013)  University Distinguished Professor and Nobel Laureate
Palmer Talbutt (1927-2017)           Associate Professor