Faculty

Department of Philosophy Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Philosophy faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Richard M. Burian
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and STS
229 Major Williams Hall
  rmburian@vt.edu
Gil Hersch Postdoctoral Fellow
224 Major Williams Hall
  hersch@vt.edu
Daniel Hoek Assistant Professor      
Benjamin Jantzen Associate Professor
226 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
James Klagge Professor 241 Major Williams Hall
  jklagge@vt.edu
Karen Kovaka Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams
  kkovaka@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor
229B Major Williams
540-231-0639 douglas.lind@vt.edu
Jordan MacKenzie  Assistant Professor 217 Major Williams Hal   jmackenzie@vt.edu
Harlan Miller
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
  hmiller@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor
233 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543 moehler@vt.edu
Deborah Mayo Professor Emerita  of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
  mayod@vt.edu
Gregory M. Novack
Visiting Assistant Professor
227 Major Williams Hall
  gmnovack@vt.edu
Joseph Pitt 
Professor
237 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5760
jcpitt@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor
231 Major Williams Hall
  critique@vt.edu
Ted Parent
Visiting Assistant Professor
221 Major Williams Hall
  parentt@vt.edu
Thomas Rowe Postdoctoral Fellow
224 Major Williams Hall   tmrowe@vt.edu
Hannah Wildman Short
Instructor 222 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7879 whann79@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Associate Professor 223 Major Williams Hall
  trogdon@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Claudio D'amato
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
  claudio1@vt.edu
Jordan Fallon  Instructor     fjordan3@vt.edu
Rachel Keith Instructor     rkeith94@vt.edu
Eric Lewis
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall   lewis@vt.edu
Grace McGee
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
  mcgeeg10@vt.edu
Shaun Respess 
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall
  srespess@vt.edu
Charles de Souza
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
  desouza@vt.edu
Katy Shepard 
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall
  kshepard@vt.edu
Alex Stubberfield Instructor     havoc123@vt.edu
 
Jack Good (1916-2009)                  University Distinguished Professor
Marjorie Grene (1910-2009)        Honorary University Distinguished Professor 
Lauren Fleming (1980-2011)         Visiting Assistant Professor
Dieter Seltzer (1992-2012)            Philosophy Undergraduate Major 
J. J. Stinson (1992-2012)                Philosophy Undergraduate Major
James M. Buchanan (1919-2013)  University Distinguished Professor and Nobel Laureate
Palmer Talbutt (1927-2017)           Associate Professor