Virginia Tech®home

Faculty

Department of Philosophy Faculty

Name Areas of Research  Position  Office Email
Gil Hersch Social and Political Phil., Phil. of Social Science, Applied Ethics, PPE Assistant Professor
820 Univ. City Blvd hersch@vt.edu
Daniel Hoek Phil. of Language, Decision Theory, Epistemology, Phil. of Mathematics Assistant Professor
217 Major Williams dhoek@vt.edu
Justin Horn Metaethics, Ethical Theory Collegiate Assistant Professor
233 Major Williams justinhorn@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Phil. of Biology, Phil. of Physics, Phil. of Science, Logic of Discovery Associate Professor
226 Major Williams
bjantzen@vt.edu
James Klagge Moral Phil., Metaphysics, Wittgenstein
Professor 241 Major Williams
jklagge@vt.edu
Karen Kovaka Phil. of Science, Phil. of Biology, Environmental Phil. Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams
kkovaka@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Phil. of Law, Pragmatism Professor 229 Major Williams douglas.lind@vt.edu
Jordan MacKenzie  Normative Ethics, Practical Ethics Assistant Professor and Dir. of Grad. Studies 239 Major Williams
jmackenzie@vt.edu
Gregory M. Novack Phil. of Science Collegiate Assistant Professor

227 Major Williams gmnovack@vt.edu
Wendy Parker Phil. of Science, Phil. of Climate Science / Meteorology   Professor 237 Major Williams wendyparker@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Phil. of Science, History of Phil. of Science, History of Phil. 
Professor

219 Major Williams

critique@vt.edu
Hannah Wildman Short Global Ethics, Bioethics Instructor 231 Major Williams

whann79@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Metaphysics, Phil. of Mind Associate Professor and Department Chair 229B Major Williams

trogdon@vt.edu
Philip Yaure Social and Politiical Phil., Phil. of Race, Early Modern Phil. 
Assistant Professor 
224 Major Williams philipyaure@vt.edu
Name Position Office Email
Ashley Shew Assistant Professor Faculty Affiliate (STS)
116 Lane Hall
shew@vt.edu
Name Email 
Jason Bowers jasonb80@vt.edu
Claudio D'amato
claudio1@vt.edu
Jordan Fallon 
fjordan3@vt.edu
Tim Fuller timothyfuller@vt.edu
Eric Lewis
lewis@vt.edu
Grace McGee
mcgeeg10@vt.edu
Shaun Respess 
srespess@vt.edu
Melissa Schwartz meliss1@vt.edu
Katy Shepard
kshepard@vt.edu
 
Jack Good (1916-2009)                  University Distinguished Professor
Marjorie Grene (1910-2009)        Honorary University Distinguished Professor 
Lauren Fleming (1980-2011)         Visiting Assistant Professor
Dieter Seltzer (1992-2012)            Philosophy Undergraduate Major 
J. J. Stinson (1992-2012)                Philosophy Undergraduate Major
James M. Buchanan (1919-2013)  University Distinguished Professor and Nobel Laureate
Palmer Talbutt (1927-2017)           Associate Professor