Virginia Tech™home

Faculty

Department of Philosophy Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Philosophy faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Richard M. Burian
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and STS
229 Major Williams Hall
  rmburian@vt.edu
Gil Hersch Assistant Professor 224 Major Williams Hall
  hersch@vt.edu
Daniel Hoek Assistant Professor 229 Major Williams Hall    dhoek@vt.edu
Justin Horn Collegiate Assistant Professor     justinhorn@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Associate Professor
226 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
James Klagge Professor 241 Major Williams Hall
  jklagge@vt.edu
Karen Kovaka Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams
  kkovaka@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor and Department Chair
229B Major Williams
540-231-0639 douglas.lind@vt.edu
Jordan MacKenzie  Assistant Professor 217 Major Williams Hal   jmackenzie@vt.edu
Harlan Miller
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
  hmiller@vt.edu
Deborah Mayo Professor Emerita  of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
  mayod@vt.edu
Gregory M. Novack
Collegiate Assistant Professor 227 Major Williams Hall
  gmnovack@vt.edu
Joseph Pitt 
Professor
237 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5760
jcpitt@vt.edu
Wendy Parker Professor 229 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4564 wendyparker@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor
231 Major Williams Hall
  critique@vt.edu
Ashley Shew Assistant Professor Faculty Affiliate (STS) 116 Lane Hall   shew@vt.edu
Hannah Wildman Short Instructor 222 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7879 whann79@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies 223 Major Williams Hall
  trogdon@vt.edu
Philip Yaure Assistant Professor  Major Williams Hall   philipyaure@vt.edu
Name Office Email
Darian Bolen 214 Major Williams Hall darianlb@vt.edu
Claudio D'amato
214 Major Williams Hall claudio1@vt.edu
Charles De Souza 214 Major Williams Hall desouza@vt.edu
Jordan Fallon  Surge 118C fjordan3@vt.edu
Hannah Glasson Surge 118C hannah9@vt.edu
Eric Lewis
231 Major Williams Hall lewis@vt.edu
Grace McGee
229 Major Williams Hall
mcgeeg10@vt.edu
Shaun Respess 
Surge 118C
srespess@vt.edu
Katy Shepard 
214 Major Williams Hall kshepard@vt.edu
     
 
Jack Good (1916-2009)                  University Distinguished Professor
Marjorie Grene (1910-2009)        Honorary University Distinguished Professor 
Lauren Fleming (1980-2011)         Visiting Assistant Professor
Dieter Seltzer (1992-2012)            Philosophy Undergraduate Major 
J. J. Stinson (1992-2012)                Philosophy Undergraduate Major
James M. Buchanan (1919-2013)  University Distinguished Professor and Nobel Laureate
Palmer Talbutt (1927-2017)           Associate Professor