Faculty

Department of Philosophy Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Philosophy faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Sukaina Hirji Assistant Professor
239 Major Williams Hall
  shirji@vt.edu
Gil Hersch Postdoctoral Fellow
224 Major Williams Hall
  hersch@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Associate Professor
226 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
James Klagge Professor 241 Major Williams Hall
  jklagge@vt.edu
Karen Kovaka Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams
  kkovaka@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor
229B Major Williams
540-231-0639 douglas.lind@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor
233 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543 moehler@vt.edu
Gregory M. Novack
Visiting Assistant Professor
227 Major Williams Hall
  gmnovack@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Professor
231 Major Williams Hall
  critique@vt.edu
Ted Parent
Visiting Assistant Professor
221 Major Williams Hall
  parentt@vt.edu
Subhradeep Roy Postdoctoral Fellow
    sdroy@vt.edu
Thomas Rowe Postdoctoral Fellow
    tmrowe@vt.edu
Hannah Wildman Short
Instructor 222 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7879 whann79@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Assistant Professor
223 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8948 trogdon@vt.edu
Daniel Wodak Assistant Professor
217 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8644 
dwodak@vt.edu
Richard M. Burian
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and STS
229 Major Williams Hall
  rmburian@vt.edu
Deborah Mayo Professor Emerita
229 Major Williams Hall
  mayod@vt.edu
Harlan Miller
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
  hmiller@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Amiel Bernal 
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall   abernal@vt.edu
Claudio D'amato
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
  claudio1@vt.edu
Eric Lewis
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall   lewis@vt.edu
Grace McGee
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
  mcgeeg10@vt.edu
Jesse Paul
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall
  jpaul05@vt.edu
Shaun Respess 
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall
  srespess@vt.edu
Mary Ryan  
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall
  maryryan@vt.edu
Charles de Souza
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
  desouza@vt.edu
Katy Shepard 
Instructor
229 Major Williams Hall
  kshepard@vt.edu
 
Jack Good (1916-2009)                  University Distinguished Professor
Marjorie Grene (1910-2009)        Honorary University Distinguished Professor 
Lauren Fleming (1980-2011)         Visiting Assistant Professor
Dieter Seltzer (1992-2012)            Philosophy Undergraduate Major 
J. J. Stinson (1992-2012)                Philosophy Undergraduate Major
James M. Buchanan (1919-2013)  University Distinguished Professor and Nobel Laureate
Palmer Talbutt (1927-2017)           Associate Professor