Virginia Tech®home

College Committees 2021-2022

 

  Diversity Committee 

Unit

Name

E-Mail

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Management

Gregory Galford

ggalford@vt.edu

School of Communication

Syrenthia Robinson

sjrob@vt.edu

English

Erika Meitner

meitner@vt.edu

English

Carmen Giménez Smith, co-chair

carmens@vt.edu

History

Sam Cook

sacook2@vt.edu

Human Development & Family Science

Carolyn Shivers

shivercm@vt.edu

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits Catalina Angrango-Walker candrag@vt.edu
Office of the Dean Devair Jeffries, ex-officio devairj@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

LaTawnya Burleson

latawnya@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

Shaila Mehra

shailamehra@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

Tasia Persson, co-chair

tpersson@vt.edu

Philosophy Greg Novack gmnovack@vt.edu

Political Science

Mauro Caraccioli

mauroj@vt.edu

Religion & Culture

Candace Buckner Ducharme

cbuckner@vt.edu

ROTC/Naval

Sharlton Gentles

gsharlton@vt.edu

School of Education

Dana Robertson

rdana@vt.edu

Glen Holmes Glenn Holmes gholmes@vt.edu

School of Performing Arts

Bob Leonard

bob.leonard@vt.edu

School of Performing Arts

Elizabeth McLain

emclain@vt.edu

Science, Technology, & Society

Lee Vinsel

leev@vt.edu

Sociology

Dale Wimberley

wimberly@vt.edu

 

 

 

Faculty Council

     

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends      

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Dina Smith-Glavina (for Erin Hopkins)

dinacs@vt.edu

2022

School of Communication

Jenn Mackay

jemackay@vt.edu

2023

School of Communication

Buddy Howell

hbuddy4@vt.edu

2023

English

Erika Meitner

meitner@vt.edu

2024

English Andrew Wadoski awadoski@vt.edu 2023
English Gyorgyi Voros gmvoros@vt.edu 2022

History

Melanie Kiechle (Fall)

Heather Gumbert (Spring)

mkiechle@vt.edu

hgumbert@vt.edu

2022

Human Dev & Family Science

Crystal Duncan Lane

cldlane@vt.edu

2022

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Nadine Sinno

nadine7@vt.edu

2024

Philosophy

Justin Horn

justinhorn@vt.edu

2022

Political Science

Jenn Lawrence

jennlaw@vt.edu

2024

Religion & Culture

Emily Satterwhite

satterwhite@vt.edu

2024

School of Education 1

Carol Cash

ccash48@vt.edu

2022

School of Education 2

Donna Fortune

daltizer@vt.edu

2022

School of Performing Arts 1

John Irrera (2 years for Wallace Easter)

jirrera@vt.edu

2023

School of Performing Arts 2

Dwight Bigler

dbigler@vt.edu

2021

Science, Technology, & Society

Daniel Breslau (Fall)

Barbara Allen (Spring)

dbreslau@vt.edu

ballen@vt.edu

2023

Sociology

Jim Hawdon

hawdonj@vt.edu

2024

Graduate Curriculum Committee3

 

Department/School                                 

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends

English

Katherine Cleland (for Sheila Carter-Tod)

kcleland@vt.edu

2023

Religion & Culture

Zhange Ni

nizhange@vt.edu

2023

School of Communication Cayce Myers mcmyers@vt.edu 2024

School of Education

Trevor Stewart

ttstew@vt.edu

2021

School of Performing Arts

Amanda Nelson

amandajnelson@vt.edu

2022

Science, Technology, & Society

James Collier

jcollie@vt.edu

2022

Sociology

Liesel Ritchie

liesel14@vt.edu

2023

Meetings                                Deadlines for Proposals

Monday, October 25            Monday, October 18

Monday, November 15        Monday, November 8

Monday, December 6         Monday, November 29

Honors and Awards Committee

 

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Gregory Galford (2 years for Dustin Read)

ggalford@vt.edu

2023

English

Carmen Gimenez Smith

carmens@vt.edu

2023

Religion & Culture

Sylvester Johnson

saj240@vt.edu

2023

ROTC

Gregory Lowe

glowe97@vt.edu

2022

School of Communication

Hannah Shinault

hannah84@vt.edu

2024

School of Education Fei Gu fgu@vt.edu 2024

School of Performing Arts 1

Greg Justice (1 year for Wally Easter)

gjustice@vt.edu

2022

Science, Technology, & Society

Philip Olson

prolson@vt.edu

2022

Sociology

Paula Seniors

pseniors@vt.edu

2023

Pursuant to the elimination of units within the School of Education in 2016, the Faculty Council voted to collapse School of Education representation from ELPS, T&L, and LST into SOE 1 and SOE 2.

At the request of the School of Performing Arts, the Faculty Council voted in Spring 2020 to collapse School of Performing Arts representation from Music and Theatre Arts into SOPA 1 and SOPA 2.

AHRM and ROTC do not have representation on the Graduate Curriculum Committee.

The International Initiatives Committee, a standing committee in the College, focuses on the College’s mission regarding study and research abroad as well as global engagement and collaboration. 

  International Initiatives Committee 

Department/School/Office

Name

E-Mail

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Eunju Hwang

hwange@vt.edu

School of Communication

Natalia Mielczarek

nmiel@vt.edu

English

Joe Eska

 Jane Wemhoener

eska@vt.edu

jwemhoen@vt.edu

Global Education Office

Rachel Fitzgerald

raegait@vt.edu

History

Glenn Bugh

gbugh@vt.edu

Human Dev & Family Science

Jeffrey Jackson

jjax@vt.edu

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

María del Carmen Caña Jiménez (Fall)

canajime@vt.edu

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Sharon Johnson (Spring)

spjohnso@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

Farida Jalalzai - convener

fjalalzai@vt.edu

Political Science

Yannis Stivachtis

 ystivach@vt.edu

Religion & Culture

Peter Schmitthenner

pschmitt@vt.edu

School of Education

David Hicks

hicks@vt.edu

School of Performing Arts

Ariana Wyatt

ariana1@vt.edu

Science, Technology, & Society

Rebecca Hester

rjhester@vt.edu

Sociology

Dale Wimberley

dale.wimberley@vt.edu

 

 

Library Committee

 

Department/School                                 

Name

E-Mail

Term Began

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Patti Fisher

pafisher@vt.edu

2017

School of Communication

Claire Boor, Chair

claire86@vt.edu

2017

English

Kenneth Hodges

klhodges@vt.edu

2019

Human Dev & Family Science

Koeun Choi

koeun@vt.edu

2018

Political Science

Audrey Reeves

audreyreeves@vt.edu

2019

School of Education

Yasuo Miyazaki

yasuom@vt.edu

2017

School of Performing Arts

Hyesoo Yoo

haes2000@vt.edu

2016

Promotion & Tenure Committee

 

Department/School                                 

Name

E-Mail

Term

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Julia Beamish (serving one year only)

jbeamish@vt.edu

2021-2023

English

Joe Eska

eska@vt.edu

2021-2023

History

LaDale Winling

lwinling@vt.edu

2020-2022

Human Dev & Family Science

Tina Savla

jsavla@vt.edu

2021-2023

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Vinodh Venkatesh

vinodhv@vt.edu

2021-2023

Philosophy

Douglas Lind (2021-22 for Joe Pitt)

douglas.lind@vt.edu

2020-2022

Political Science

Yannis Stivachtis

ystivach@vt.edu

2021-2023

Religion & Culture

Brian Britt, chair

bbritt@vt.edu

2020-2022

School of Communication Wat Hopkins whopkins@vt.edu 2020-2022
School of Communication John Tedesco tedesco@vt.edu 2020-2022

School of Education 1

Amy Azano

azano@vt.edu

2020-2022

School of Education 2

Jesse (Jay) Wilkins

wilkins@vt.edu

2021-2023

School of Performing Arts 1

Jason Crafton

jcrafton@vt.edu

2020-2022

School of Performing Arts 2

Patricia Raun

praun@vt.edu

2021-2023

Science, Technology, & Society

Christine Labuski (2021-22 for Saul Halfon)

chrislab@vt.edu

2020-2022

Sociology

David Brunsma

brunsmad@vt.edu

2020-2022

Dean & Convener

Laura Belmonte

belmonte@vt.edu

Ex officio

University Committee Rep

Toni Calasanti

toni@vt.edu

2021-2024

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee4

 

Department/School                                 

Name

E-Mail

Term

English

Su Fang Ng

ngsf@vt.edu

2024

History

Dennis Halpin (Fall)

TBA (Spring)

dphalpin@vt.edu

2023

Human Dev & Family Science

Victoria Lael

vlbvt@vt.edu

2022

Modern & Classical Languages and Literatures

Robert Efird

refird@vt.edu

2022

Philosophy

Justin Horn

justinhorn@vt.edu

2024

Political Science

Priya Dixit

pdixit@vt.edu

2023

School of Performing Arts

Cara Rawlings

crawlings@vt.edu

2022

School of Education faculty do not serve on the undergraduate committee.