Virginia Tech®home

College Committees 2022-2023

Diversity Committee

Unit

Name

Email

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Hina Illahe

hinai@vt.edu

English

Su Fang Ng

ngsf@vt.edu

Center for Gerontology

Pam Teaster

pteaster@vt.edu

History

Sam Cook

sacook2@vt.edu

Human Dev & Family Science

Caroline Sanner

csanner@vt.edu

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Catalina Andrango-Walker

candrag@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

Shaila Mehra

shailamehra@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

Tasia Persson, co-chair

tpersson@vt.edu

Philosophy

Mercy Corredor

mcorredor@vt.edu

Political Science

Mauro Caraccioli

mauroj@vt.edu

Religion & Culture

Danille Christensen

dec09@vt.edu

ROTC/Army

Sharlton Gentles

gsharlton@vt.edu

School of Communication

Syrenthia Robinson

sjrob@vt.edu

School of Education

Dana Robertson

rdana@vt.edu

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Theodore Lim

tclim@vt.edu

Science, Technology, & Society

Lee Vinsel

leev@vt.edu

Sociology

Dale Wimberley

wimberly@vt.edu

 

 

 

 

Faculty Council

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Renee Walsh

rwalsh12@vt.edu

 

2025

English

Bruce McComiskey

mbruce21@vt.edu

2024

English

Andrew Wadoski

awadoski@vt.edu

2023

English

Kenneth Hodges

klhodges@vt.edu

2025

History

Heather Gumbert

hgumbert@vt.edu

2025

Human Dev & Family Science

Caroline Hornburg (F)

TeKisha Rice (S)

chornburg@vt.edu

tmrice@vt.edu

2025

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Nadine Sinno

nadine7@vt.edu

2024

Philosophy

Philip Yaure

philipyaure@vt.edu

2025

Political Science

Karin Kitchens

karin@vt.edu

2024

Religion & Culture

Emily Satterwhite

satterwhite@vt.edu

2024

School of Communication

Jenn Burleson

jennburleson@vt.edu

2023

School of Communication

Buddy Howell

hbuddy4@vt.edu

2023

School of Education 11

Catheryn Foster

csfoster@vt.edu

2025

School of Education 2

Peter Doolittle

pdoo@vt.edu

2025

School of Public & Intl Affairs

David Bieri

bieri@vt.edu

2025

Science, Technology, & Society

Barbara Allen

ballen@vt.edu

2023

Sociology

Jim Hawdon

hawdonj@vt.edu

2024



Graduate Curriculum Committee2

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends

English

Katherine Cleland

(for Sheila Carter-Tod)

kcleland@vt.edu

2023

Philosophy

Ben Jantzen (F 22 only)

Douglas Lind

bjantzen@vt.edu

douglas.lind@vt.edu

2025

Religion & Culture

Zhange Ni

nizhange@vt.edu

2023

School of Communication

Cayce Myers

mcmyers@vt.edu

2024

School of Education 2

Nancy Bradley

nbradley@vt.edu

2024

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Giselle Datz

gdatz@vt.edu

2025

Sociology

Liesel Ritchie

liesel14@vt.edu

2023

 

 

 

Honors and Awards Committee

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Erin Hopkins

erinz1@vt.edu

2023

English

Bruce McComiskey

mbruce21@vt.edu

2023

Philosophy

Justin Horn

justinhorn@vt.edu

2025

Religion & Culture

Sylvester Johnson

saj240@vt.edu

2023

School of Communication

Hannah Shinault

hannah84@vt.edu

2024

School of Education 2

Breanna Ellington

bellington@vt.edu

2024

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Theodore Lim

tclim@vt.edu

2025

Sociology

Paulo Polanah

ppolanah@vt.edu

2023

The International Initiatives Committee, a standing committee in the College, focuses on the College’s mission regarding study and research abroad as well as global engagement and collaboration. 

 

  International Initiatives Committee

Department/School/Office

Name

E-Mail

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Eunju Hwang

hwange@vt.edu

English

Joe Eska

eska@vt.edu

English

Jane Wemhoener

jwemhoen@vt.edu

Global Education Office

Rachel Fitzgerald

raegait@vt.edu

History

Glenn Bugh

gbugh@vt.edu

Human Dev & Family Science

Jeffrey Jackson

jjax@vt.edu

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

María del Carmen Caña Jiménez

canajime@vt.edu

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Sharon Johnson (Spring)

spjohnso@vt.edu

Office of the Dean

Farida Jalalzai - convener

fjalalzai@vt.edu

Political Science

Yannis Stivachtis (Fall)

Besnik Pula (Spring)

ystivach@vt.edu

bpula@vt.edu

Religion & Culture

Peter Schmitthenner

pschmitt@vt.edu

School of Communication

Natalia Mielczarek

nmiel@vt.edu

School of Education

David Hicks

hicks@vt.edu

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Ralph Hall

rphall@vt.edu

Science, Technology, & Society

Rebecca Hester

rjhester@vt.edu

Sociology

Dale Wimberley

dale.wimberley@vt.edu

Library Committee

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Began

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Patti Fisher

pafisher@vt.edu

2017

English

Kenneth Hodges

klhodges@vt.edu

2019

Human Dev & Family Science

Koeun Choi

koeun@vt.edu

2018

Political Science

Audrey Reeves

audreyreeves@vt.edu

2019

School of Communication

Claire Boor, Chair

claire86@vt.edu

2017

School of Education

Bonnie Billingsley

bbilling@vt.edu

2022

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Ralph Hall

rphall@vt.edu

2022

Promotion & Tenure Committee

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term

Apparel, Housing, & Resource Mgmt

Patti Fisher

pafisher@vt.edu

2021-2023

English

Joe Eska

eska@vt.edu

2021-2023

History

Dan Thorp

wachau@vt.edu

2022-2024

Human Dev & Family Science

Tina Savla

jsavla@vt.edu

2021-2023

Modern & Classical Langs & Lits

Vinodh Venkatesh

vinodhv@vt.edu

2021-2023

Philosophy

Wendy Parker

wendyparker@vt.edu

2022-2024

Political Science

Yannis Stivachtis

ystivach@vt.edu

2021-2023

Religion & Culture

Sylvester Johnson

saj240@vt.edu

2022-2024

School of Communication

Wat Hopkins

whopkins@vt.edu

2022-2024

School of Communication

James Ivory

jivory@vt.edu

2022-2024

School of Education 1

Trevor Stewart

ttstew@vt.edu

2022-2024

School of Education 2

Jesse (Jay) Wilkins

wilkins@vt.edu

2021-2023

School of Public & Intl Affairs3

Joel Peters

peters25@vt.edu

2022-2023

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Ralph Buehler

ralphbu@vt.edu

2022-2024

Science, Technology, & Society

Christine Labuski

chrislab@vt.edu

2022-2024

Sociology

David Brunsma

brunsmad@vt.edu

2022-2024

Dean & Convener

Laura Belmonte

belmonte@vt.edu

Ex officio

University Committee Rep

Toni Calasanti

toni@vt.edu

2021-2024

 

 

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee4

Department/School

Name

E-Mail

Term Ends

English

Matthew Vollmer

vollmer@vt.edu

2024

History

Carmen Gitre (Fall)

TBA (Spring)

cgitre@vt.edu

2023

Philosophy

James Klagge

jklagge@vt.edu

2024

Political Science

Priya Dixit

pdixit@vt.edu

2023

Religion & Culture

Paula Seniors

pseniors@vt.edu

2025

School of Communication5

Brandi Quesenberry

brandiq@vt.edu

Spring 20236

School of Education7

Donna Fortune

donnafortune@vt.edu

20238

School of Public & Intl Affairs

Diane Zahm

dzahm@vt.edu

2025

 

1Pursuant to the elimination of units within the School of Education in 2016, the Faculty Council voted to collapse School of Education representation from ELPS, T&L, and LST into SOE 1 and SOE 2.

2AHRM and ROTC do not have representation on the Graduate Curriculum Committee.

3The terms of the two SPIA reps should be staggered as are those of the reps from the other schools.

4School of Education faculty traditionally have not served on the undergraduate committee.

5Representative added by Monica Kimbrell because of the need for more faculty to carry out the work of this committee.

6Possibility of continuing through Spring.

7Representative added at the request of Monica Kimbrell and the School of Education, which has reintroduced undergraduate majors.

8One-year term.