Department of Communication Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Communication's faculty members alphabetically and by discipline.

faculty
Name Position Office Phone Email
Claire Hall Boor
Instructor  235 Shanks Hall
540-231-2164
claire86@vt.edu
Douglas Cannon
Assistant Department Head, Professor of Practice
106 Shanks Hall
540-231-2331 dfcannon@vt.edu
Dorothy Skiles Conner Instructor 235 Shanks Hall
540-231-9085
djs21@vt.edu
Robert E. Denton W. Thomas Rice Chair and Department Head 130E Shanks Hall
540-231-7166 rdenton@vt.edu
Megan Duncan
Assistant Professor
148 Shanks Hall
540-231-6689
meganduncan@vt.edu
Carlos Evia Associate Professor 153 Shanks Hall
540-231-2373
cevia@vt.edu
Katherine Haenschen Assistant Professor
145 Shanks Hall
540-231-9835
kh3@vt.edu
Rachel L. Holloway
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs 104 Burruss Hall
540-231-4167 rhollowa@vt.edu
W. Wat Hopkins Professor 103 Shanks Hall 540-231-9833 whopkins@vt.edu
Mike Horning Assistant Professor 140 Shanks Hall 540-231-7162 mhorning@vt.edu
Buddy Howell Advanced Instructor
141 Shanks Hall 540-231-7163 hbuddy4@vt.edu
Adrienne Ivory
Assistant Professor 108 Shanks Hall
540-231-1671 holz@vt.edu
James D. Ivory Research Director 111 Shanks Hall
540-231-6507 jivory@vt.edu
Dale M. Jenkins
Advanced Instructor 143 Shanks Hall
540-231-9829 dajenki2@vt.edu
Jim A. Kuypers
Professor 112 Shanks Hall
540-231-3154 kuypers@vt.edu
Nneka Logan
Assistant Professor 107 Shanks Hall
540-231-1749 nlogan@vt.edu
Jenn Mackay
Associate Professor 139 Shanks Hall
540-231-1663 jemackay@vt.edu
Natalia Mielczarek
Assistant Professor
144 Shanks Hall 540-231-1666 nmiel@vt.edu
Cayce Myers
Assistant Professor 113 Shanks Hall
540-231-7165 mcmyers@vt.edu
Laura Purcell
Instructor
121 Shanks Hall
540-231-7136
laurap@vt.edu
Brandi Quesenberry
Director of Undergraduate Programs, Advanced Instructor
130C Shanks Hall
540-231-9828 brandiq@vt.edu
Robin Reed
Professor of Practice 151 Shanks Hall
540-231-0282
rrobin7@vt.edu
Syrenthia Robinson
Advanced Instructor 109 Shanks Hall
540-231-9827 sjrob@vt.edu
Bill Roth
Professor of Practice 151 Shanks Hall
540-231-5020 billroth@vt.edu
Hannah Shinault
Instructor 137 Shanks Hal
540-231-9831
hannah84@vt.edu
Stephanie Smith
Assistant Professor 105 Shanks Hall
540-231-7137 stephs11@vt.edu
Zack Sowder
Instructor 253 Shanks Hall
540-231-5769
sowder89@vt.edu
William Paul Spaulding TV / Multimedia Systems Engineer 151 Moss Arts Center
540-231-8763 wpspaul@vt.edu
Emily Wilkinson Stallings
Senior Instructor
155 Shanks Hall
540-231-3327 ews@vt.edu
Susan Stinson
Instructor / New Student Coordinator 130B Shanks Hall
540-231-5044 susans40@vt.edu
John C. Tedesco
Professor 115 Shanks Hall
540-231-3224 tedesco@vt.edu
Beth Waggenspack
Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor 147 Shanks Hall
540-231-7625 bwaggens@vt.edu
Brandi Watkins
Assistant Professor 101 Shanks Hall
540-231-1661 brandi1@vt.edu
Chelsea Woods Assistant Professor
110 Shanks Hall 
540-231-6689
clwoods@vt.edu
Jared M. Woolly
Instructor 142 Shanks Hall
540-231-1669 jmwoolly@vt.edu
Name Position Office Phone Email
Robert E. Denton
W. Thomas Rice Chair and Department Head 130E Shanks Hall
540-231-7166
rdenton@vt.edu
Rachel L. Holloway
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs 104 Burruss Hall 540-231-4167
rhollowa@vt.edu
W. Wat Hopkins
Professor 103 Shanks Hall
540-231-9833
whopkins@vt.edu 
Mike Horning
Assistant Professor 140 Shanks Hall
540-231-7162
mhorning@vt.edu
Adrienne Ivory
Assistant Professor 108 Shanks Hall
540-231-1671
holz@vt.edu
James D. Ivory
Research Director 111 Shanks Hall
540-231-6507
jivory@vt.edu
Jim A. Kuypers
Professor 112 Shanks Hall
540-231-3154
kuypers@vt.edu
Nneka Logan
Assistant Professor 107 Shanks Hall
540-231-1749
nlogan@vt.edu
Jenn Mackay
Associate Professor 139 Shanks Hall
540-231-1663
jemackay@vt.edu
Natalia Mielczarek   
Assistant Professor  
144 Shanks Hall
540-231-1666  
nmiel@vt.edu
Cayce Myers
Assistant Professor 113 Shanks Hall
540-231-7165
mcmyers@vt.edu
Stephanie Smith
Assistant Professor 121 Shanks Hall
540-231-7137
stephs11@vt.edu 
Dan Tamul
Assistant Professor 
146-Shanks Hall 540-231-3610  
tamul@vt.edu
John C. Tedesco
Professor 115 Shanks Hall
540-231-3224
tedesco@vt.edu
Beth Waggenspack
Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor 147 Shanks Hall
540-231-7625
bwaggens@vt.edu