DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY

560 McBryde Hall (0137)
225 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-8971
FAX: 540-231-3860
E-mail: soc@vt.edu

Office of the Department Chair

560 McBryde Hall (0137)
225 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-8971
FAX: 540-231-3860
E-mail: soc@vt.edu

Brenda Husser, Office Manager
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-6878
bhusser@vt.edu

Tish Glosh, Fiscal Technician
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

Blake Smith, IT Support Specialist 
653 McBryde Hall
Phone: 540-231-5292
bsmith15@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students


Current students for academic support, please call Brenda Husser at 540-231-6878 or email: bhusser@vt.edu

Visit the center for advising support at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061. 

Brenda Husser, Academic Advisor
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-6878
bhusser@vt.edu

Amy Kokkinakos, Undergraduate Coordinator
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8971
amyk@vt.edu

Graduate Students


Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Tish Glosh , in person, by email at glosht@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-8972.

Visit our office at 560 McBryde Hall, 225 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Neal King, Director of Graduate Studies
642 McBryde Hall
540-231-8174
nmking@vt.edu

Ellington Graves, Director of Africana Studies
562 McBryde Hall
540-231-7343
egraves@vt.edu

Sharon Johnson, Director of Women's and Gender Studies
507a McBryde Hall
540-231-5932
spjohnso@vt.edu

Sam Cook, Director of American Indian Studies
644 McBryde Hall
540-231-9596
sacook2@vt.edu

Tish Glosh, Graduate Coordinator
560 McBryde Hall
540-231-8972
glosht@vt.edu

James Hawdon, Director of the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention
205a Norris Hall
540-231-7476
hawdonj@vt.edu

Amy Splitt, Office Manager for the Center for Peace Studies and Violence Prevention
209 Norris Hall
540-231-2345
amys@vt.edu

Wornie Reed, Director of the Race and Social Policy Research Center
564 McBryde Hall
540-231-3496
wornie@vt.edu

Shelton Norwood, Administrative Assistant for the Race and Social Policy Research Center
564 McBryde Hall
540-231-6107
snorwood@vt.edu