Our Faculty

We have world-class faculty doing groundbreaking research in a variety of topics. Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Science and Technology in Society's faculty members and their contact information.

STS  Faculty

Department Faculty

Janet Abbate Associate Professor - National Capital Region Campus 7054 Haycock Road
703-538-3768 abbate@vt.edu  
Barbara Allen Professor - National Capital Region Campus 7054 Haycock Road
703-538-3780 ballen@vt.edu
Daniel Breslau Associate Professor and Department Chair - Blacksburg Campus
235 Lane Hall 540-231-8472
dbreslau@vt.edu
James Collier Associate Professor - Blacksburg Campus
Lane Hall 540-558-8684 jcollie@vt.edu
Eileen Crist Associate Professor - Blacksburg Campus
231 Lane Hall 540-231-5195 ecrist@vt.edu
Gary Downey Alumni Distinguished Professor- Blacksburg Campus
332 Lane Hall 540-231-4761 downeyg@vt.edu
Saul Halfon Associate Professor - Blacksburg Campus
232 Lane Hall 540-231-1648 shalfon@vt.edu
Rebecca Hester Assistant Professor - Blacksburg Campus
235 Lane Hall 540-231-8359 rjhester@vt.edu
Philip Olson Assistant Professor - Blacksburg Campus
333 Lane Hall 540-231-1119 prolson@vt.edu
Sonja Schmid Associate Professor- National Capital Region Campus
7054 Haycock Road
703-538-8482
sschmid@vt.edu
Ashley Shew Assistant Professor - Blacksburg Campus
116 Lane Hall   shew@vt.edu
Matthew Wisnioski Associate Professor - Blacksburg Campus
331 Lane Hall 540-231-2887 mwisnios@vt.edu

Contributing Faculty

Mark Barrow Professor, History 431 Major Williams Hall             
540-231-4099          
barrow@vt.edu 
Monique Dufour Collegiate Assistant Professor, History
403 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8307         msdufour@vt.edu
Matthew Goodrum Visiting Assistant Professor, Science and Technology in Society 
334 Lane Hall 
540-231-9006
mgoodrum@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Edward S. Diggs Professor in the Humanities, English
303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu
Richard Hirsh Professor, History
423 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5601
richards@vt.edu
Christine Labuski Assistant Professor, Sociology
518 McBryde Hall 540-231-2765 chrislab@vt.edu
Timothy Luke University Distinguished Professor, Political Science
539 Major Williams Hall 540-231-6633 twluke@vt.edu
Joseph Pitt Professor, Philosophy
237 Major Williams 
540-231-5760
jcpitt@vt.edu
David Tomblin Adjunct Professor, Science and Technology in Society 
Northern Virginia Center
  dtomblin@umd.edu

Affiliates

Kathleen Jones Associate Professor, History
439 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5351
kjwj@vt.edu
Melanie Kiechle Assistant Professor, History
417 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7523
mkiechle@vt.edu
Yanna Lambrinidou        
Lydia Patton Associate Professor, Philosophy
231 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8489 critique@vt.edu
Barbara Reeves Adjunct Professor
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5670
reeves@vt.edu
Donna Riley Professor, Engineering Education
365 Goodwin Hall 540-231-4390
dmriley@vt.edu
Thomas Staley Associate Professor
445 Old Turner Street 540-231-7522
tstaley@vt.edu

Emeritus

Ann La Berge
Associate Professor Emerita
     alaberge@vt.edu
Richard Burian Professor Emeritus 220 Major Williams 540-231-6760 rmburian@vt.edu
Ellsworth Fuhrman Professor 131 Lane Hall 540-231-8966 fuhrman@vt.edu
Doris Zallen Professor 233 Lane Hall 540-231-4216 dtzallen@vt.edu