Our Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of our faculty members alphabetically.

Religion and Culture Faculty
Ananda Abeysekara Associate Professor 209 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5788 ananda@vt.edu
Aaron Ansell Associate Professor
242 Lane Hall
540-231-0491 aansell@vt.edu
Brian Britt Professor
111 Lane Hall 540-231-5118 bbritt@vt.edu
Danille Christensen Assistant Professor 216 Lane Hall 540-231-5528 dec09@vt.edu
Elizabeth Fine
Professor Emerita, Humanities
  540-231-6551
bfine@vt.edu
Matthew Gabriele
Associate Professor
342 Lane Hall 
540-231-1618
mgabriele@vt.edu
Sylvester Johnson  Professor and Director of the Center for the Humanities
315 Lane Hall 
540-231-9120 
saj240@vt.edu
Samuel Kessler
Postdoctoral Fellow
211 Major Williams
540-231-6810
kesslers@vt.edu
Jordan Laney Instructor Curator's Office, Solitude
540-231-0610
jlaney@vt.edu
Elizabeth Struthers Malbon
Professor Emerita
  540-231-6551
malbon@vt.edu
Zhange Ni Associate Professor
205 Major Williams Hall 540-231-1823 nizhange@vt.edu
Shaily Patel 
Assistant Professor
207 Major Williams 
540-232-8456
shailyp@vt.edu
Anita Puckett Associate Professor 207 Solitude
540-231-9526 apuckett@vt.edu
Michael Saffle Professor 204 Major Williams 540-231-6080 msaffle@vt.edu
Emily Satterwhite Associate Professor 344 Lane Hall 540-231-8779 satterwhite@vt.edu
Peter L. Schmitthenner Associate Professor 321 Lane Hall 540-231-8377 pschmitt@vt.edu
Rachel M. Scott Associate Professor 203 Major Williams 540-231-4848 rmscott@vt.edu