DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

531 Major Williams Hall (0130)
220 Stanger St
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6571
FAX: 540-231-6078

Office of the Department Chair

531 Major Williams Hall (0130)
220 Stanger St
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-6571
FAX: 540-231-6078

Karen Hult, Department Chair
531D Major Williams Hall
540-231-5836
khult@vt.edu

Yannis Stivachtis, Associate Chair 
119B Major Williams Hall
540-231-5816
ystivach@vt.edu

Kim Hedge, Executive Secretary Senior
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8477
khedge@vt.edu

Josette Torres, Information Technology Specialist
506 Major Williams
540-231-1854
josette@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students


Current students for academic advising, please contact Courtney Thomas by email: copowell@vt.edu or by phone 540-231-2285. 

Current undergraduate students requesting administrative support should contact the undergraduate coordinator, Sybil Denney, in person, by email at sybil@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-6571.

Visit the center for advising support at 531 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Charles Taylor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
535 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5555
clt@vt.edu

Courtney Thomas, Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies
527A Major Williams Hall
540-231-2855
copowell@vt.edu

Sybil Denney, Undergraduate Coordinator
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6571
sybil@vt.edu

Yannis Stivachtis, Director of the International Studies Program
119B Major Williams Hall
540-231-5816
ystivach@vt.edu

Jennifer Hanratty, International Studies Academic Advisor
527B Major Williams Hall
540-231-6438
jhanratty@vt.edu

Phoebe Peterson, International Studies Academic Advisor
119 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5874
phoebe@vt.edu

Graduate Students


Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Karen Nicholson, in person, by email at karenn@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-6572.

Visit our office at 531 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Scott G. Nelson, Director of Graduate Studies
519 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5629
scnelson@vt.edu

Karen Nicholson, Graduate Coordinator
531 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6572
karenn@vt.edu

Virginia Tech is a partner university of the Diplomacy Lab, a program of the U.S. State Department. Learn more about Diplomacy Lab.

Yannis Stivachtis, Director, Diplomacy Lab at Virginia Tech
119B Major Williams Hall
540-231-5816
ystivach@vt.edu