Our Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of the Department of Philosophy's faculty members alphabetically.

Philosophy Group

Department Faculty

Sukaina Hirji Assistant Professor
239 Major Williams Hall
540-231-2921 
shirji@vt.edu
Benjamin Jantzen Assistant Professor
226 Major Williams Hall
540-231-1766 bjantzen@vt.edu
James Klagge Professor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8487 jklagge@vt.edu
Douglas Lind Professor
229B Major Williams
540-231-0639 douglas.lind@vt.edu
Michael Moehler Associate Professor
229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7543 moehler@vt.edu
Lydia Patton Associate Professor
231 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8489 critique@vt.edu
Joseph Pitt Professor
237 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5760 jcpitt@vt.edu
Kelly Trogdon Assistant Professor
223 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8948 trogdon@vt.edu
Daniel Wodak Assistant Professor
217 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8644 
dwodak@vt.edu

Visiting Faculty

Ted Parent
Visiting Assistant Professor
221 Major Williams Hall
540- 231-8485
parentt@vt.edu
Gregory M. Novack
Visiting Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams Hall
540-231-6760
gmnovack@vt.edu
Nathan Rockwood
Visiting Assistant Professor
220 Major Williams Hall
540- 231-0997
nathan80@vt.edu

Instructors

Claudio D'amato
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231- claudio1@vt.edu
Darren Jackson
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231- darrenmj@vt.edu
Eric Lewis
Instructor 354 Lane Hall
540-231-6476 lewis@vt.edu
Grace McGee
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231- mcgeeg10@vt.edu
Caitlin Parker
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231-  
Melissa Schwartz
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231- meliss1@vt.edu
Hannah Wildman Short
Instructor 222 Major Williams Hall
540-231-7879 whann79@vt.edu
Michael Zarella
Instructor 229 Major Williams Hall
540-231- mzarella@vt.edu

Emeriti

James Buchanan
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
229 Major Williams Hall
 
Richard M. Burian
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and STS
229 Major Williams Hall
rmburian@vt.edu
Deborah Mayo Professor
229 Major Williams Hall
mayod@vt.edu
Harlan Miller
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
229 Major Williams Hall
hmiller@vt.edu
Palmer Talbutt
Associate Professor Emeritus
229 Major Williams Hall
 

In Memoriam

Jack Good (1916-2009)                 University Distinguished Professor
Marjorie Grene (1910-2009)       Honorary University Distinguished Professor 
Lauren Fleming (1980-2011)       Visiting Assistant Professor
Dieter Seltzer (1992-2012)          Philosophy Undergraduate Major 
J. J. Stinson (1992-2012)               Philosophy Undergraduate Major