DEPARTMENT OF MODERN AND CLASSICAL LANGUAGES AND LITERATURES

331 Major Williams Hall (0225)
Virginia Tech
220 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: (540) 231-5362

Office of the Department Chair

331 Major Williams Hall (0225)
220 Stanger Street
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: (540) 231-5362

Jacqueline E. Bixler, Department Chair
331C Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
jbixler@vt.edu

Rhonda Pennington, Office and Fiscal Manager
326 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9160
rwills@vt.edu

Pam Saville, Office Services Specialist
331 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
psaville@vt.edu

Katie Akers, Fiscal Technician
331A Major Williams Hall
540-231-2571
klavt@vt.edu

Carolyn Kletnieks, IT Support Specialist 
218 Major Williams
540-231-5433
carolynk@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students


If you have questions about  Arabic Studies, please contact: Nadine Sinno at  nadine7@vt.edu

If you have questions about  Chinese Studies, please contact: Janell Watson at rjwatson@vt.edu or Rebecca Chang at  rebecc2@vt.edu

If you have questions about French Studies, please contact: Corinne Noirot at 540-231-8563 or  cnoirot@vt.edu

If you have questions about German Studies, please contact: Esther Bauer at 540-231-9846 or bauere@vt.edu

If you have questions about Hebrew Studies, please contact: Ester Hallerman at  esterh56@vt.edu@vt.edu

If you have questions about Italian Studies, please contact: Melissa Coburn at 540-231-8632 or mcoburn@vt.edu

If you have questions about Japanese Studies, please contact: Yasuko Kumazawa at kumazawa@vt.edu

If you have questions about Classical Studies, please contact: Andrew Becker at andrew.becker@vt.edu

If you have questions about Modern Greek Studies, please contact: Maria Hatzios at  mhatzios@vt.edu

 

If you have questions about Russian Studies, please contact the advisor assigned to the first letter of your
 last name.

A-K Students: Bob Efird at refird@vt.edu 

L-Z Students: Yuliya Minkova at yuliam1@vt.edu

 

If you have questions about Spanish Studies, please contact the advisor assigned to the first letter of your last name.

A-D Students: Catalina Andrango-Walker at candRang@vt.edu

E-H Students: Elisabeth Austin at elaustin@vt.edu

I-L Students: María del Carmen Caña Jiménez at canajime@vt.edu

M-P Students: Jessica Folkart at jfolkart@vt.edu

Q-U Students: Aarnes Gudmestad at agudmest@vt.edu

V-Z Students: Sarah Sierra at ssierra2@vt.edu

Visit our office at 331 Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Nadine Sinno, Coordinator Arabic Studies
306 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
nadine7@vt.edu

Rebecca Chang, Coordinator
Chinese Studies
108 Surge
540-231-5362
rebecc2@vt.edu

Corinee Noirot, Coordinator French Studies
333 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8563
cnoirot@vt.edu

Esther BauerCoordinator German Studies
330 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9846
bauere@vt.edu

Ester Hallerman, Coordinator Hebrew Studies
306 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
esterh56@vt.edu

Melissa Coburn, Coordinator
Italian Studies
328 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
mcoburn8@vt.edu

Yasuko Kumazawa, Coordinator Japanese Studies
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362
kumazawa@vt.edu

Andrew BeckerCoordinator Latin and Ancient Greek (Classical Studies)
337 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
andrew.becker@vt.edu

Maria Hatzios, Coordinator Modern Greek Studies
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362
mhatzios@vt.edu

Robert Efird, Coordinator
Russian Studies
305 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8632
refird@vt.edu

Aarnes Gudmestad, Coordinator Spanish Studies
319 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4605
agudmest@vt.edu

Graduate Students


Current graduate students for academic support should contact the director of graduate studies, Vinodh Venkatesh in person, by email at vinodhv@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-5362.

Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Pam Saville in person, by email at psaville@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-5362.

Visit our office at 331B major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Vinodh Venkatesh, Director of Graduate Studies
339 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
vinodhv@vt.edu

Pam Saville, Graduate Student Coordinator
331B Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362
psaville@vt.edu