Our Faculty

At the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, we have world-class faculty doing groundbreaking research in a variety of disciplines. Click on the tabs below for a list of Department of Human Development faculty members and their contact information.

Human Development Faculty

Alphabetical

A-F

Katherine Allen Professor 401C Wallace Hall 540-231-6526 kallen@vt.edu
Joyce Arditti Professor 311 Wallace Hall 540-231-5758 arditti@vt.edu
Martha Ann Bell Professor 333 Williams Hall 540-231-2546 mabell@vt.edu
Mark Benson Associate Professor 305 Wallace Hall 540-231-5720 mbenson@vt.edu
Victoria Blanchard Instructor 105 Wallace Hall 540-231-3768 vlbvt@vt.edu
Rosemary Blieszner Alumni Distinguished Professor / Assoc. Dean Graduate School 313 Wallace Hall 540-231-5437 rmb@vt.edu
Marcie Boucouvalas Professor Northern Virgnia Center 703-538-8469 marcie@vt.edu
Isabel Bradburn Research Director of Child Development Center for Learning & Research 103 Wallace Hall 540-231-1863 Isbrad@vt.edu
Karen DeBord Extension Specialist Human Development 540-238-3327 kdebord@vt.edu
Megan Dolbin-MacNab Associate Professor 840 University City Blvd.
Suite 1
540-231-6807 mdolbinm@vt.edu
Mariana Falconier Associate Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8461 marianak@vt.edu
April Few-Demo Associate Professor 401A Wallace Hall 540-231-2664 alfew@vt.edu
Victoria Fu Professor, Director of Child Development Center for Learning and Research 309 Wallace Hall 540-231-4796 vfu@vt.edu

G-N

Karen Gallagher Assistant Director of Child Development Center for Learning and Research 140A Wallace Hall 540-231-9815 karenrg@vt.edu
Alexa Gardner Curriculum Coordinator and Instructor in Child Development Center 140D Wallace Hall 540-231-4791 alfraley@vt.edu
Erika Grafsky Assistant Professor 840 Univ. City Blvd.
Suite 1
540-231-6782 erikagrafsky@vt.edu
Angela Huebner Associate Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8491 ahuebner@vt.edu
Jeff Jackson Assistant Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-3787 jjax@vt.edu
Scott Johnson Associate Professor 840 University City Blvd.
Suite 1
540-231-3311 scottwj@vt.edu
Christine Kaestle Associate Professor 315 Wallace Hall 540-231-3194 kaestle@vt.edu
Kee Jeong Kim Associate Professor 317 Wallace Hall 540-231-4671 keekim@vt.edu
Matthew Komelski Instructor 258 Wallace Hall 540-357-3822 komelski@vt.edu
Eric McCollum Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8463 ericmccollum@vt.edu
Peggy Meszaros William E. Lavery Professor 200 Wallace Hall 540-231-9428 meszaros@vt.edu

O-Z

Fred Piercy Professor of Family Therapy 303 Wallace Hall 540-231-9816 piercy@vt.edu
Craig Ramey Professor and VTC Distinguished Research Scholar Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute 540-232-8080 ctramey@vt.edu
Sharon Ramey Professor and VTC Distinguished Research Scholar   540-526-2033 slramey@vt.edu
Karen Roberto University Distinguished Professor 230 Grove Ln. 540-231-7657 kroberto@vt.edu
Laura Sands Professor 230 Grove Ln. 540-231-9634 lsands@vt.edu
Tina Savla Associate Professor 205 Grove Ln. 540-231-2348 jsavla@vt.edu
Ila Schepisi Advance Instructor 102 Wallace Hall 540-231-3160 schepisi@vt.edu
Carolyn Shivers Assistant Professor 358 Wallace Hall 540-231-5434 shivercm@vt.edu
Cindy Smith Associate Professor 307 Wallace Hall 540-231-4793 smithcl@vt.edu
Pamela Teaster Professor 203 Grove Ln. 540-231-8958 pteaster@vt.edu
Mary Ellen Verdu Senior Instructor & Director of Undergraduate Studies 401B Wallace Hall 540-231-9099 mverdu@vt.edu
Anisa Zvonkovic Department Head 366A Wallace Hall 540-231-4794 anisaz@vt.edu

Focus Areas

Child and Adolescent Development

Mark Benson Associate Professor 305 Wallace Hall 540-231-5720 mbenson@vt.edu
Isabel Bradburn Research Director of Child Development Center for Learning & Research 103 Wallace Hall 540-231-1863 Isbrad@vt.edu
Victoria Fu Professor, Director of Child Development Center for Learning and Research 309 Wallace Hall 540-231-4796 vfu@vt.edu
Christine Kaestle Associate Professor 315 Wallace Hall 540-231-3194 kaestle@vt.edu
Kee Jeong Kim Associate Professor 317 Wallace Hall 540-231-4671 keekim@vt.edu
Carolyn Shivers Assistant Professor 358 Wallace Hall 540-231-5434 shivercm@vt.edu
Cindy Smith Associate Professor 307 Wallace Hall 540-231-4793 smithcl@vt.edu

Family Studies

Katherine Allen Professor 401C Wallace Hall 540-231-6526 kallen@vt.edu
Joyce Arditti Professor 311 Wallace Hall 540-231-5758 arditti@vt.edu
Victoria Blanchard Instructor 105 Wallace Hall 540-231-3768 vlbvt@vt.edu
April Few-Demo Associate Professor 401A Wallace Hall 540-231-2664 alfew@vt.edu
Anisa Zvonkovic Department Head 366A Wallace Hall 540-231-4794 anisaz@vt.edu

Marriage and Family Therapy - National Capital Region

Mariana Falconier Associate Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8461 marianak@vt.edu
Jeff Jackson Assistant Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-3787 jjax@vt.edu
Eric McCollum Professor Northern Virginia Center 703-538-8463 ericmccollum@vt.edu

Adult Development and Aging

Rosemary Blieszner Alumni Distinguished Professor / Assoc. Dean Graduate School 313 Wallace Hall 540-231-5437 rmb@vt.edu
Matthew Komelski Instructor 258 Wallace Hall 540-357-3822 komelski@vt.edu
Karen Roberto University Distinguished Professor 230 Grove Ln. 540-231-7657 kroberto@vt.edu
Laura Sands Professor 230 Grove Ln. 540-231-9634 lsands@vt.edu
Tina Savla Associate Professor 205 Grove Ln. 540-231-2348 jsavla@vt.edu
Pamela Teaster Professor 203 Grove Ln. 540-231-8958 pteaster@vt.edu

Marriage and Family Therapy - Blacksburg

Megan Dolbin-MacNab Associate Professor 840 University City Blvd.
Suite 1
540-231-6807 mdolbinm@vt.edu
Erika Grafsky Assistant Professor 840 Univ. City Blvd.
Suite 1
540-231-6782 erikagrafsky@vt.edu
Scott Johnson Associate Professor 840 University City Blvd.
Suite 1
540-231-3311 scottwj@vt.edu
Fred Piercy Professor of Family Therapy 303 Wallace Hall 540-231-9816 piercy@vt.edu

Child Development Center for Learning and Research

Karen Gallagher Assistant Director of Child Development Center for Learning and Research 140A Wallace Hall 540-231-9815 karenrg@vt.edu
Alexa Gardner Curriculum Coordinator and Instructor in Child Development Center 140D Wallace Hall 540-231-4791 alfraley@vt.edu

Adult Day Services

Ila Schepisi Advance Instructor 102 Wallace Hall 540-231-3160 schepisi@vt.edu
Carolyn Shivers Assistant Professor 358 Wallace Hall 540-231-5434 shivercm@vt.edu