DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

431 Major Williams Hall (0117)
220 Stanger St
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-5331
FAX: 540-231-8724
E-mail:lindaf@vt.edu

Office of the Department Chair

431 Major Williams Hall (0117)
220 Stanger St
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: 540-231-5331
FAX: 540-231-8724
E-mail:lindaf@vt.edu

Mark V. Barrow, Jr., Department Chair
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-4099
barrow@vt.edu

Heather Gumbert, Associate Chair
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8378
hgumbert@vt.edu

Linda Fountaine, Admin Asst. to Chair and Office Manager
431 Major Williams
540-231-5331
lindaf@vt.edu

Brianna Crowder, Undergraduate Academic Advisor & Graduate Coordinator
431A Major Williams
540-231-8382
blovern@vt.edu

Courtney Loan, Bookkeeper/Receptionist
431 Major Williams
540-231-3594
cloan@vt.edu

Clara Enriquez, Computer Resources Manager/Webmaster
420 Major Williams
540-231-5332
clara3@vt.edu

Amanda SwindellIT Support Technician
420 Major Williams
540-231-5332
hoffer81@vt.edu

Undergraduate Students


Current students for academic advising, please contact Heather Gumbert by email: hgumbert@vt.edu or by phone 540-231-8378. 

Current undergraduate students requesting administrative support should contact the Undergraduate Academic Advisor, Brianna Crowder, in person, by email at blovern@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-8382.

Visit the center for advising support at 430A Major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061 

Heather Gumbert, Associate Chair
431 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8378
hgumbert@vt.edu

Brianna Crowder, Undergraduate Academic Advisor 
431A Major Williams
540-231-8382
blovern@vt.edu

Graduate Students


Current graduate students requesting administrative support should contact the graduate student coordinator, Brianna Crowder, in person, by email at blovern@vt.edu, or by phone at 540-231-8382.

Visit our office at 431A major Williams Hall, 220 Stanger Street, Blacksburg, VA 24061.

Matt Heaton, Director of Graduate Studies
409 Major Williams Hall
540-231-8361
mheaton@vt.edu

Brianna Crowder, Graduate Coordinator
431A Major Williams
540-231-8382
blovern@vt.edu

Paul Quigley, Director Virginia Center for Civil War Studies
405 Major Williams Hall
540-231-9090
pquigley@vt.edu