Our Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of our faculty members alphabetically and by language.

Foreign Languages and Literatures Faculty

Alphabetical

A-H

Catalina Andrango-Walker Assistant Professor of Spanish 301 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 candrang@vt.edu
Elisabeth L. Austin Associate Professor of Spanish 307 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 elaustin@vt.edu
Ahmad Azzam Adjunct Instructor of Arabic 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 ahmed62@vt.edu
Esther Bauer Associate Professor of German 330 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9846 bauere@vt.edu
Andrew Becker Associate Professor of Latin and Ancient Greek Languages, Literatures, and Cultures 337 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 abecker@vt.edu
Jacqueline E. Bixler Alumni Distinguished Professor of Spanish, Department Chair 331C Major Williams Hall 540-231-8632 jbixler@vt.edu
María del Carmen Caña Jiménez Assistant Professor of Spanish 332 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 canajime@vt.edu
Melissa Coburn Associate Professor of Italian 328 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 mcoburn8@vt.edu
Addison Dalton Instructor of Spanish 324 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 addalton@vt.edu
Alexander Dickow Assistant Professor of French 314 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ard@vt.edu
Robert Efird Associate Professor of Russian 305 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 refird@vt.edu
Jessica Folkart Professor of Spanish 323 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9076 jfolkart@vt.edu
Aarnes Gudmestad Associate Professor of Spanish 319 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 agudmest@vt.edu
Médoune Gueye Associate Professor of French 321 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8317 mgueye@vt.edu
Owen Guo Instructor of Chinese 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 oweng@vt.edu
Ester F. Hallerman Adjunct Instructor of Hebrew 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 esterh56@vt.edu
Maria Hatzios Adjunct Instructor of Modern Greek 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 mhatzios@vt.edu
Annie Hesp Advanced Instructor of Spanish 329 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 ahesp@vt.edu
Stefanie Hofer Assistant Professor of German 304 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 hofer@vt.edu

I-O

Sharon P. Johnson Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859 spjohnson@vt.edu
Yasuko Kumazawa Instructor of Japanese 
108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 kumazawa@vt.edu
Jay Michael Layne Instructor of German 329 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 jmlayne@vt.edu
Barbara Helen Leshyn Instructor of Spanish 306A Saunders Hall 540-231-1432  bkraft@vt.edu
Nancy Patricia Lopez-Romero Advanced Instructor of Spanish 324 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5361 paloma@vt.edu
Tatiana P. McKagen Instructor of Russian 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 tamckage@vt.edu
Nyusya Milman-Miller Associate Professor of Russian 302 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 nmilman@vt.edu
Yuliya Minkova Assistant Professor of Russian 309 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 yam1@vt.edu
Sulagna Mishra Instructor of French 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 sulagm1@vt.edu
Xiaojin Zhang Moore Adjunct Instructor of Chinese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 xjzhang@vt.edu
Ragheda Nassereddine Instructor of Arabic 310 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ragheda5@vt.edu
Corinne Noirot Associate Professor of French 333 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8563 cnoirot@vt.edu
Jennifer Christine Orr Adjunct Instructor of German
108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 jcorr@vt.edu

P-Z

Richard L. Phillips Assistant Professor of Classics 303 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 rphllps@vt.edu
Kirsten Rutsala Instructor of Russian 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 krutsala@vt.edu
Michael Sguerri Instructor of Italian 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 sguerri@vt.edu
Richard L. Shryock Associate Professor of French 331 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4605 shryockr@vt.edu
Sarah Sierra Associate Professor of Spanish 315 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ssierra2@vt.edu
Nadine Adel Sinno Assistant Professor of Arabic 306 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362  nadine7@vt.edu
Alejandra Beatriz Sobrado Instructor of Spanish 
316 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 asobrado@vt.edu
Christine Steer Instructor of Latin 243 Lane Hall
540-231-5362 cygnet@vt.edu
Debra L. Stoudt Associate Dean and Professor of German 260C Wallace Hall 540-231-6426 dstoudt@vt.edu
Fabrice G. Teulon Associate Professor of French 325 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 fteulon@vt.edu
Griselle Vargas Adjunct Instructor of Spanish 313 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 gvargas@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh Associate Professor of Spanish 339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 vinodhv@vt.edu
Janell Watson Professor of French 341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009 rjwatson@vt.edu
Yumiko Younos Instructor of Japanese 108 Surge Space Building
540-231-5362 yyounos@vt.edu

Discipline

Arabic

Ahmad Azzam
Adjunct Instructor of Arabic 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 ahmed62@vt.edu
Ragheda Nassereddine
Instructor of Arabic 310 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ragheda5@vt.edu
Nadine Adel Sinno
Assistant Professor of Arabic 306 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 nadine7@vt.edu

Chinese

Owen Guo
Instructor of Chinese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 oweng@vt.edu
Xiaojin Zhang Moore
Adjunct Instructor of Chinese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 xjzhang@vt.edu

Classics

Andrew Becker
Associate Professor of Latin and Ancient Greek Languages, Literatures, and Cultures 337 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 andrew.becker@vt.edu
Maria Hatzios
Adjunct Instructor of Modern Greek 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 mhatzios@vt.edu
Richard L. Phillips
Assistant Professor of Classics 303 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 rphllps@vt.edu
Christine Steer
Instructor of Latin 243 Lane Hall 540-553-5362 cygnet@vt.edu

French

Alexander Dickow
Assistant Professor of French 314 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ard@vt.edu
Médoune Guèye
Associate Professor of French 321 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8317 mgueye@vt.edu
Sharon P. Johnson
Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies 317 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9859 spjohnso@vt.edu
Sulagna Mishra
Instructor of French 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 sulagm1@vt.edu
Corinne Noirot
Associate Professor of French 333 Major Williams Hall 540-231-8563 cnoirot@vt.edu
Richard L. Shyrock
Associate Professor of French 331 Major Williams Hall 540-231-4605 shryockr@vt.edu
Fabrice G. Teulon
Associate Professor of French 325 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 fteulon@vt.edu
Janell Watson
Professor of French 341 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9009 rjwatson@vt.edu

German

Esther Bauer
Associate Professor of German 330 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9846 bauere@vt.edu
Stefanie Hofer
Assistant Professor of German 304 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 hofer@vt.edu
Jay Michael Layne
Instructor of German 329 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 jmlayne@vt.edu
Jennifer Christine Orr
Adjunct Professor of German 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 jcorr@vt.edu
Debra L. Stoudt
Associate Dean and Professor of German 260C Wallace Hall 540-231-6426 dstoudt@vt.edu

Hebrew

Ester F. Hallerman
Adjunct Instructor of Hebrew 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 esterh56@vt.edu

Italian

Melissa Coburn
Associate Professor of Italian 328 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5632 mcoburn8@vt.edu
Michael Sguerri
Instructor of Italian 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 sguerri@vt.edu

Japanese

Yasuko Kumazawa Instructor of Japanese 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 kumazawa@vt.edu
Yumiko Younos
Instructor of Japanese  108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 yyounos@vt.edu

Russian

Robert Efird
Associate Professor of Russian 305 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 refird@vt.edu
Tatiana P. McKagen
Instructor of Russian 108 Surge Space Building 540-231-5362 tamckage@vt.edu
Nyusya Milman-Miller
Associate Professor of Russian 302 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 nmilman@vt.edu
Yuliya Minkova
Assistant Professor of Russian 309 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 yam1@vt.edu
Kirsten Rutsala
Instructor of Russian 311 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 krutsala@vt.edu

Spanish

Catalina Andrango-Walker Assistant Professor of Spanish 301 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 candrang@vt.edu
Elisabeth L. Austin
Associate Professor of Spanish 307 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 elaustin@vt.edu
Jacqueline E. Bixer
Alumni Distinguished Professor of Spanish, Department Chair 331C Major Williams Hall 540-231-8632 jbixler@vt.edu
Maria del Carmen Caña Jiménez
Assistant Professor of Spanish 332 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 canajime@vt.edu
Addison Dalton
Spanish Instructor 324 Major Williams Hall
540-231-5362 addalton@vt.edu
Jessica Folkart
Professor of Spanish 323 Major Williams Hall 540-231-9076 jfolkart@vt.edu
Aarnes Gudmestad
Associate Professor of Spanish
319 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 agudmest@vt.edu
Annie Hesp
Advanced
Instructor of Spanish
329 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ahesp@vt.edu
Barbara H. Leshyn
Instructor of Spanish 306A Saunders Hall 540-231-1432 bkraft@vt.edu
Nancy P. Lopez-Romero
Advanced Instructor of Spanish 324 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5361 paloma@vt.edu
Sarah Sierra
Associate Professor of Spanish
315 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 ssierra2@vt.edu
Alejandra B. Sobrado
Spanish Instructor 316 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 asobrado@vt.edu
Griselle Vargas
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish 313 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362
gvargas@vt.edu
Vinodh Venkatesh
Associate Professor of Spanish 339 Major Williams Hall 540-231-5362 vinodhv@vt.edu