Our Faculty

Click on the tabs below for a list of our faculty members alphabetically.

History Faculty Specialties
Robin Allnut Senior Instructor 237 Shanks Hall 540-231-8301 rallnut@vt.edu
Mark Armstrong Senior Instructor 441 Shanks Hall
540-231-8413
marmstro@vt.edu
Hanna (Netta) Baker Instructor 414 Shanks Hall
540-231-4729
nettab@vt.edu
Shaun Baker Instructor 353 Shanks Hall
540-231-8458
shibadou@vt.edu
Jennifer Barton Advanced Instructor 423 Shanks Hall
540-231-8445
jebarton@vt.edu
Carl Bean Instructor 447 Shanks Hall
540-231-8450
cbean@vt.edu
Michael Bliss Senior Instructor 251 wallace hall
540-231-7695
mbliss@vt.edu
Lissa Bloomer Senior Instructor 455 Shanks Hall
540-231-6150
ebloomer@vt.edu
Robert Canter Senior Instructor 219 Shanks Hall
540-231-6749
bcanter@vt.edu
Katie Carmichael Assistant Professor 407 Shanks Hall
540-231-7712
katcarm@vt.edu
Sheila Carter-Tod Associate Professor 443 Shanks Hall
540-231-8448
sct@vt.edu
Gena Chandler-Smith Associate Professor 213 Shanks Hall
540-231-7796
gechandl@vt.edu
Katharine Cleland Assistant Professor 247 Shanks Hall
540-231-6322
kcleland@vt.edu
Tony Colaianne Associate Professor 427 Shanks Hall
540-231-8321
acolaian@vt.edu
Kathy Combiths Senior Instructor 437 Shanks Hall
540-231-8396
combiths@vt.edu
Sean Conaway Instructor 241 Shanks Hall
540-231-8360
seanconaway@vt.edu
James Dubinsky Associate Professor 413 Shanks Hall
540-231-1939
dubinsky@vt.edu
Charlene Eska Associate Professor 312 Shanks Hall
540-231-2374
ceska@vt.edu
Joe Eska Professor 429 Shanks Hall
540-231-7909
eska@vt.edu
Carlos Evia Associate Professor 309 Shanks Hall
540-231-5152
cevia@vt.edu
Ed Falco Professor 411 Shanks Hall
540-231-7743
efalco@vt.edu
Virginia Fowler Professor 313 Shanks Hall
540-231-6919
vfowler@vt.edu
Serena Frost Advanced Instructor 249 Shanks Hall
540-231-4271
sdfrost@vt.edu
Tom Gardner Professor 417 Shanks Hall
540-231-6901
tom.gardner@vt.edu
Traci Gardner Instructor 214 Shanks Hall
540-231-6739
tengrrl@vt.edu
Jared Gibbs Advanced Instructor 425 Shanks Hall
540-231-0688
jagibbs2@vt.edu
Nikki Giovanni University Distinguished Professor 403 Shanks Hall
540-231-7785
ngiovann@vt.edu
Peter Graham Professor 401 Shanks Hall
540-231-6715
pegraham@vt.edu
JoAnn Harvill Senior Instructor 245 Shanks Hall 540-231-7114 jharvill@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Chair and Professor 303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu
Paul Heilker Associate Professor 406 Shanks Hall
540-231-8444
paul.heilker@vt.edu
Bob Hicok Professor 215 Shanks Hall
540-231-7739
hicok@vt.edu
Alice Kinder Senior Instructor     453 Shanks Hall
540-231-6524
akinder@vt.edu
Shoshana M. Knapp Associate Professor 227 Shanks Hall
540-231-8462
dashiell@vt.edu
Andy Lautenschlager Advanced Instructor 455 Shanks Hall
540-231-5468
elautens@vt.edu
Jennifer Lawrence Senior Instructor 349 Shanks Hall
540-231-8469
jlwrnc@vt.eud
Victoria LeCorre Instructor 231 Shanks Hall
540-231-7797
vlecorre@vt.edu
Kevin Lewis Associate Professor of Practice 351 Shanks Hall
540-231-8459
kevlewis@vt.edu
Justin Lewis
Assistant Professor 
205 Shanks Hall
540-231- jlewis16@vt.edu
Penny Livesay Adjunct Instructor 207 Shanks Hall
540-231-4748
plivesay@vt.edu
Jeff Mann Associate Professor 210 Shanks Hall
540-231-7706
jemann2@vt.edu
Shelly Maycock Instructor 225 Shanks Hall
540-231-7915
mmayco@vt.edu
Erika Meitner Associate Professor 410 Shanks Hall
540-231-7728
meitner@vt.edu
Julie Mengert Senior Instructor 217 Shanks Hall
540-231-5352
jmengert@vt.edu
Nancy Metz Professor 308 Shanks Hall
540-231-8467
nancy.metz@vt.edu
Jennifer Mooney Senior Instructor 301 Shanks Hall
540-231-6513
jenmoon@vt.edu
Steve Mooney Senior Instructor 337 Shanks Hall
540-231-8449
pinemtn@vt.edu
Mary D. Moore Senior Instructor 208 Shanks Hall
540-231-7693
mmoore@vt.edu
Aileen Murphy Senior Instructor 421 Shanks Hall
540-231-4747
aileen@vt.edu
Leslie Neilan Senior Instructor 212 Shanks Hall
540-231-9453
lneilan@vt.edu
Steve Oakey Advanced Instructor 211 Shanks Hall 540-231-6568 soakey@vt.edu
Timothy Parrish Professor 229 Shanks Hall
540-231-7753
parrisht@vt.edu
Randy Patton Senior Instructor 251 Shanks Hall
540-231-9177
randy.patton@vt.edu
Kelly Pender Associate Professor 306 Shanks Hall
540-231-9077
pender@vt.edu
Katrina M. Powell Professor 340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu
David Radcliffe Professor 412 Shanks Hall
540-231-7663
drad@vt.edu
Ashley Reed Assistant Professor 405 Shanks Hall
540-231-8650
akreed@vt.edu
Lucinda Roy Alumni Distinguished Professor 415 Shanks Hall
540-231-6146
lroy@vt.edu
Vanessa Ruccolo Advanced Instructor 439 Shanks Hall
540-231-7902
vruccolo@vt.edu
Sue Saffle Senior Instructor 223 Shanks Hall
540-231-8461
gsaffle@vt.edu
Jennifer Sano-Franchini Assistant Professor 408 Shanks Hall
540-231-6918
sanojenn@vt.edu
Joe Scallorns Advanced Instructor 209 Shanks Hall
540-231-4500
jscallorns@vt.edu
Cathy Skinner Senior Instructor 433 Shanks Hall
540-231-8340
lskinner@vt.edu
Mike Smith Senior Instructor 419 Shanks Hall
540-231-8287
mismith@vt.edu
Karen Swenson Associate Professor 435 Shanks Hall
540-231-8350
karen.swenson@vt.edu
Matthew Vollmer Assistant Professor 431 Shanks Hall
540-231-8322
vollmer@vt.edu
Gyorgyi Voros Senior Instructor 216 Shanks Hall
540-231-5647
gmvoros@vt.edu
Abby Walker Assistant Professor 409 Shanks Hall
540-231-5138
ajwalker@vt.edu
Jane Wemhoener Senior Instructor 311 Shanks Hall
540-231-7299
jwemhoen@vt.edu

 

Specialization

Creative Writing

Robin Allnut Senior Instructor 237 Shanks Hall 540-231-8301
rallnut@vt.edu
Carl Bean Instructor 447 Shanks Hall
540-231-8450
cbean@vt.edu
Lissa Bloomer Senior Instructor 455 Shanks Hall
540-231-6150
ebloomer@vt.edu
Sean Conaway Instructor 241 Shanks Hall
540-231-8360
seanconaway@vt.edu
Ed Falco Professor 411 Shanks Hall
540-231-7743
efalco@vt.edu
Nikki Giovanni University Distinguished Professor 403 Shanks Hall
540-231-7785
ngiovann@vt.edu
Bob Hicok Professor 215 Shanks Hall
540-231-7739
hicok@vt.edu
Jeff Mann Associate Professor 210 Shanks Hall
540-231-7706
jemann2@vt.edu
Erika Meitner Associate Professor 410 Shanks Hall
540-231-7728
meitner@vt.edu
Aileen Murphy Senior Instructor 421 Shanks Hall
540-231-4747
aileen@vt.edu
Lucinda Roy Alumni Distinguished Professor 415 Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
lroy@vt.edu
Joe Scallorns Advanced Instructor 209 Shanks Hall
540-231-4500
jscallorns@vt.edu
Matthew Vollmer Assistant Professor 431 Shanks Hall
540-231-8322
vollmer@vt.edu
Gyorgyi Voros Senior Instructor 216 Shanks Hall
540-231-5647
gmvoros@vt.edu

Literature and Language

Shaun Baker Instructor 353 Shanks Hall 540-231-8458
shibadou@vt.edu
Jennifer Barton Advanced Instructor 423 Shanks Hall
540-231-8445
jebarton@vt.edu
Michael Bliss Senior Instructor 257 Wallace Hall
540-231-7695
mbliss@vt.edu
Robert Canter Senior Instructor 219 Shanks Hall
540-231-6749
bcanter@vt.edu
Katie Carmichael Assistant Professor 407 Shanks Hall
540-231-7712
katcarm@vt.edu
Gena Chandler-Smith Associate Professor 213 Shanks Hall
540-231-7796
gechandl@vt.edu
Katharine Cleland Visiting Assistant Professor 247 Shanks Hall
540-231-6322
kcleland@vt.edu
Tony Colaianne Associate Professor 427 Shanks Hall
540-231-8321
acolaian@vt.edu
Charlene Eska Associate Professor 312 Shanks Hall
540-231-2374
ceska@vt.edu
Virginia Fowler Professor 313 Shanks Hall
540-231-6919
vfowler@vt.edu
Tom Gardner Professor 417 Shanks Hall
540-231-6901
tom.gardner@vt.edu
Jared Gibbs Advanced Instructor 425 Shanks Hall
540-231-0688
jagibbs2@vt.edu
Peter Graham Professor 401 Shanks Hall
540-231-6715
pegraham@vt.edu
JoAnn Harvill Senior Instructor 245 Shanks Hall
540-231-7114
jharvill@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Professor and Chair 303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu
Alice Kinder Senior Instructor     453 Shanks Hall
540-231-6524
akinder@vt.edu
Shoshana M. Knapp Associate Professor 227 Shanks Hall
540-231-8462
dashiell@vt.edu
Victoria LeCorre Instructor 231 Shanks Hall
540-231-7797
vlecorre@vt.edu
Nancy Metz Professor 308 Shanks Hall
540-231-8467
nancy.metz@vt.edu
Steve Mooney Senior Instructor 337 Shanks Hall
540-231-8449
pinemtn@vt.edu
Mary D. Moore Senior Instructor 208 Shanks Hall
540-231-7693
mmoore@vt.edu
Leslie Neilan Senior Instructor 212 Shanks Hall
540-231-9453
lneilan@vt.edu
Steve Oakey Advanced Instructor 207 211 Shanks Hall
540-231-6568
soakey@vt.edu
Timothy Parrish Professor 229 Shanks Hall
540-231-7753
parrisht@vt.edu
Randy Patton Senior Instructor 251 Shanks Hall
540-231-9177
randy.patton@vt.edu
Katrina M. Powell Professor 340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu
David Radcliffe Professor 412 Shanks Hall
540-231-7663
drad@vt.edu
Ashley Reed Assistant Professor 405 Shanks Hall
540-231-8650
akreed@vt.edu
Jennifer Sano-Franchini Assistant Professor 408 Shanks Hall
540-231-6918
sanojenn@vt.edu
Cathy Skinner Senior Instructor 433 Shanks Hall
540-231-8340
lskinner@vt.edu
Karen Swenson Associate Professor 435 Shanks Hall
540-231-8350
karen.swenson@vt.edu
Gyorgyi Voros Senior Instructor 216 Shanks Hall
540-231-5647
gmvoros@vt.edu
Abby Walker Assistant Professor 409 Shanks Hall
540-231-5138
ajwalker@vt.edu
Jane Wemhoener Senior Instructor 311 Shanks Hall
540-231-4659
jwemhoen@vt.edu

Professional and Technical Writing

Mark Armstrong Senior Instructor 441 Shanks Hall 540-231-8413
marmstro@vt.edu
Jennifer Barton Advanced Instructor 423 Shanks Hall
540-231-8445
jebarton@vt.edu
Carl Bean Instructor 447 Shanks Hall
540-231-8450
cbean@vt.edu
Kathy Combiths Advanced Instructor 437 Shanks Hall
540-231-8396
combiths@vt.edu
James Dubinsky Associate Professor 413 Shanks Hall
540-231-1939
dubinsky@vt.edu
Carlos Evia Associate Professor 309 Shanks Hall
540-231-5152
cevia@vt.edu
Serena Frost Advanced Instructor 249 Shanks Hall
540-231-4271
sdfrost@vt.edu
Traci Gardner Instructor 214 Shanks Hall
540-231-6739
tengrrl@vt.edu
Alice Kinder Senior Instructor     453 Shanks Hall
540-231-6524
akinder@vt.edu
Andy Lautenschlager Advanced Instructor 455 Shanks Hall
540-231-5468
elautens@vt.edu
Kevin Lewis Associate Professor of Practice 351 Shanks Hall
540-231-8459
kevlewis@vt.edu
Julie Mengert Senior Instructor 217 Shanks Hall
540-231-5352
jmengert@vt.edu
Jennifer Mooney Senior Instructor 301 Shanks Hall
540-231-6513
jenmoon@vt.edu
Randy Patton Senior Instructor 251 Shanks Hall
540-231-9177
randy.patton@vt.edu

Linguistics

Katie Carmichael Assistant Professor 407 Shanks Hall 540-231-7712
katcarm@vt.edu
Charlene Eska Associate Professor 312 Shanks Hall
540-231-2374
ceska@vt.edu
Joe Eska Professor 429 Shanks Hall
540-231-7909
eska@vt.edu
Abby Walker Assistant Professor 409 Shanks Hall
540-231-5138
ajwalker@vt.edu

Composition

Robin Allnut Senior Instructor 237 Shanks Hall 540-231-8301
rallnut@vt.edu
Hanna (Netta) Baker Instructor 414 Shanks Hall
540-231-4729
nettab@vt.edu
Shaun Baker Instructor 353 Shanks Hall
540-231-8458
shibadou@vt.edu
Michael Bliss Senior Instructor 257 Wallace Hall
540-231-7695
mbliss@vt.edu
Lissa Bloomer Senior Instructor 455 Shanks Hall
540-231-6150
ebloomer@vt.edu
Robert Canter Senior Instructor 219 Shanks Hall
540-231-6749
bcanter@vt.edu
Kathy Combiths Advanced Instructor 437 Shanks Hall
540-231-8396
combiths@vt.edu
Sean Conaway Instructor 241 Shanks Hall
540-231-8360
seanconaway@vt.edu
Jared Gibbs Advanced Instructor 425 Shanks Hall
540-231-0688
jagibbs2@vt.edu
JoAnn Harvill Senior Instructor 245 Shanks Hall
540-231-7114
jharvill@vt.edu
Paul Heilker Associate Professor 406 Shanks Hall
540-231-8444
paul.heilker@vt.edu
Andy Lautenschlager Advanced Instructor 455 Shanks Hall
540-231-5468
elautens@vt.edu
Jennifer Lawrence Senior Instructor 349 Shanks Hall
540-231-8469
jlwrnc@vt.eud
Penny Livesay Instructor 207 Shanks Hall
540-231-4748
plivesay@vt.edu
Shelly Maycock Instructor 225 Shanks Hall
540-231-7915
mmayco@vt.edu
Julie Mengert Senior Instructor 217 Shanks Hall
540-231-5352
jmengert@vt.edu
Steve Mooney Senior Instructor 337 Shanks Hall
540-231-8449
pinemtn@vt.edu
Mary D. Moore Senior Instructor 208 Shanks Hall
540-231-7693
mmoore@vt.edu
Leslie Neilan Senior Instructor 212 Shanks Hall
540-231-9453
lneilan@vt.edu
Steve Oakey Advanced Instructor 207 211 Shanks Hall
540-231-6568
soakey@vt.edu
Vanessa Ruccolo Advanced Instructor 439 Shanks Hall
540-231-7902
vruccolo@vt.edu
Cathy Skinner Senior Instructor 433 Shanks Hall
540-231-8340
lskinner@vt.edu
Mike Smith Senior Instructor 419 Shanks Hall
540-231-8287
mismith@vt.edu

Graduate Program Faculty

M.A. in English

Katie Carmichael Assistant Professor 407 Shanks Hall 540-231-7712
katcarm@vt.edu
Sheila Carter-Tod Associate Professor 443 Shanks Hall
540-231-8448
sct@vt.edu
Gena Chandler-Smith Associate Professor 213 Shanks Hall
540-231-7796
gechandl@vt.edu
Katharine Cleland Visiting Assistant Professor 247 Shanks Hall
540-231-6322
kcleland@vt.edu
Tony Colaianne Associate Professor 427 Shanks Hall
540-231-8321
acolaian@vt.edu
Charlene Eska Associate Professor 312 Shanks Hall
540-231-2374
ceska@vt.edu
Joe Eska Professor 429 Shanks Hall
540-231-7909
eska@vt.edu
Virginia Fowler Professor 313 Shanks Hall
540-231-6919
vfowler@vt.edu
Tom Gardner Professor 417 Shanks Hall
540-231-6901
tom.gardner@vt.edu
Peter Graham Professor 401 Shanks Hall
540-231-6715
pegraham@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Professor and Chair 303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu
Paul Heilker Associate Professor 406 Shanks Hall
540-231-8444
paul.heilker@vt.edu
Shosana M. Knapp Associate Professor 227 Shanks Hall
540-231-8462
dashiell@vt.edu
Nancy Metz Professor 308 Shanks Hall
540-231-8467
nancy.metz@vt.edu
Timothy Parrish Professor 229 Shanks Hall
540-231-7753
parrisht@vt.edu
Kelly Pender Associate Professor 306 Shanks Hall
540-231-9077
pender@vt.edu
Katrina M. Powell Professor 340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu
David Radcliffe Professor 412 Shanks Hall
540-231-7663
drad@vt.edu
Ashley Reed Assistant Professor 405 Shanks Hall
540-231-8650
akreed@vt.edu
Jennifer Sano-Franchini Assistant Professor 408 Shanks Hall
540-231-6918
sanojenn@vt.edu
Karen Swenson Associate Professor 435 Shanks Hall
540-231-8350
karen.swenson@vt.edu
Abby Walker Assistant Professor 409 Shanks Hall
540-231-5138
ajwalker@vt.edu

MFA in Creative Writing

Ed Falco Professor 411 Shanks Hall
540-231-7743
efalco@vt.edu
Nikki Giovanni University Distinguished Professor 403 Shanks Hall
540-231-7785
ngiovann@vt.edu
Bob Hicok Professor 215 Shanks Hall
540-231-7739
hicok@vt.edu
Jeff Mann Associate Professor 210 Shanks Hall
540-231-7706
jemann2@vt.edu
Erika Meitner Associate Professor 410 Shanks Hall
540-231-7728
meitner@vt.edu
Lucinda Roy Alumni Distinguished Professor 415 Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
lroy@vt.edu
Matthew Vollmer Assistant Professor 431 Shanks Hall
540-231-8322
vollmer@vt.edu

Ph.D. in Rhetoric and Writing

Sheila Carter-Tod Associate Professor 443 Shanks Hall 540-231-8448
sct@vt.edu
James Dubinsky Associate Professor 413 Shanks Hall
540-231-1939
dubinsky@vt.edu
Carlos Evia Associate Professor 309 Shanks Hall
540-231-5152
cevia@vt.edu
Bernice Hausman Professor and Chair 303 Shanks Hall
540-231-8466
bhausman@vt.edu
Paul Heilker Associate Professor 406 Shanks Hall
540-231-8444
paul.heilker@vt.edu
Kelly Pender Associate Professor 306 Shanks Hall
540-231-9077
pender@vt.edu
Katrina M. Powell Professor 340C Shanks Hall
540-231-7759
kmpowell@vt.edu
Jennifer Sano-Franchini Assistant Professor 408 Shanks Hall
540-231-6918
sanojenn@vt.edu